We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel. I would recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #36 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice hotel. I would recommend.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two bedroom/ two bath suite was beautiful, well appointed, and had plenty of room The price was fair. The view is second to none. The bedding was comfortable and the living room area had plenty of space.

The room service breakfast left much to be desired. The continental breakfast was simply a loaf of toasted white bread and some jelly.

Nonetheless, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated suite accommodations. Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding your room service breakfast. We value your input and hope you will stay again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    724
    300
    165
    104
See reviews for
359
641
117
1,030
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent well informed conciege desk and excellent front desk and door staff. I asked concierge for advice on restaurants and bike rental. They came through each time and were very accomodating. Bike rental was great way to see a lot of Austin. (Warning, big hills.)

Room was very clean and comfortable. Nice location not far from downtown fun and capitol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel207Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Guest Services staff. We appreciate your acknowledgement and will pass along your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice hotel great location, good service. You can walk to everywhere down town. Good place to stay in Austin. Lots of places around you to eat. My only problem was with reception in the evening not giving us the room we wanted

Room Tip: The higher the better and away from lifts less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate your comments regarding our location and facilities. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is our first trip to Austin and we turned to Robert for guidance, his suggestions were spot on and was so helpful to my wife in making arrangements for a hairdresser for the wedding on Sunday and a massage therapist for my wife's bad neck and head. He's a true asset to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Guest Services Manager, Robert King. Rest assured he will receive special recognition as a result of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

What a terrific experience! My husband was attending a conference here, and the whole stay was great! Room was spacious, bathroom lovely with huge, thick towels. Every Omni employee we dealt with went out of their way to provide an excellent experience, and each was friendly, accommodating, and seemed to love their job. The concierge was particularly helpful.
Be sure to sign up for the Omni preferred guest program. It's free and gets you some "freebies", such as wi-fi in your room, morning beverage delivered to your room, and a few others.
We were also given another "perk" (perhaps because of the conference) which was a free daily breakfast and "cocktail reception"--these were especially nice, as my husband was off at the conference, but I could have a nice breakfast just a few steps from my room (some folks came in their PJs!). While he attended a corporate dinner, I could make a light dinner of cheese and hors d'oeuvres with drinks to have in my room.
We stayed on an upper floor that looked out on the atrium. Some of the conference attendees who were on lower levels that faced the 7th Street side of the building said they were kept up by folks enjoying the Austin nightlife scene on 6th Street. However, I remember when checking in that the front desk folks carefully made note that if ANYTHING disturbed our sleep, to please contact them to they could try to rectify the situation.
It's going to be hard to stay at other hotels after the Omni Austin!

Room Tip: We stayed on an upper floor that looked out on the atrium. Some of the conference attendees who wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for posting comments from your recent visit during your husband's conference. We hope you will return so that we may spoil you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Omni for the Lifemax Regional Convention in February. We arrived early in the day and I was surprised that they immediately were ready to put us in a room. I had been contacted by a hotel rep a few days prior offering an upgrade to a suite. We declined, but I requested a quiet room on an upper floor. We were greeted warmly and provided a room on the executive side on the 16th floor. We did not hear a peep from another guest during our entire visit. The room was a bit small, but the bed was amazingly comfortable and along with the blackout curtains afforded me one of the best night's sleep I've had in months. The bathroom was big and beautiful, had a full size (regular) hair dryer and robe for our use. Every single staff member in the hotel was warm, welcoming and helpful. A great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivegrl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay during the Lifemax Event. We thank you for your supportive comments and look forward to having you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After flight delays, my wife and I arrived at the hotel around 1 am. There was some confusion as to our reservation and we were informed that we would not be able to have our room until 3 pm. The night manager made calls and found a room for us at another hotel. They said they would call as soon as our room was ready. We got that call at 10 am and moved into the Omni, only 2 blocks from 6th St. and all things fun in Austin. We were there for a business conference and the facilities for our numerous meetings were impeccable. The restaurant and bar had great food and excellent service. The staff, concierge and management were very friendly and informed on all things Austin. If not for the reservation mix-up, I would give 5 Stars.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep, request a room facing the interior of the hotel; otherwise, 6t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your positive comments regarding your recent visit. Our apologies for the miscommunication regarding your reservation. We hope next time your travels bring you back to Austin, you'll allow us to provide you with 5 Star service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing