We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Middle of the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #42 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“In the Middle of the Action”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Omni including the weekend with Halloween festivities ! Yes it was very noisy Saturday but the hotel advice on quietest rooms was appreciated and their security was evident.
Excellent bedroom and bathroom, great views over the city, friendly and helpful staff.
Location is brilliant with all the attractions of 6th Street music and bars/restaurants close by and easy walking to the Capitol and Congress St.
Parking expensive but secure and if you have a car right in the centre of city then this is no surprise.
A most enjoyable stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryRolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments regarding our location, accommodations and staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    758
    321
    183
    126
See reviews for
391
677
123
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have a lovely 2 nights here. From the moment we arrived in our car to when we left the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was an inward facing room so was very quiet. The room was also spacious and comfortable. The old negative would be the lack of lighting over the bath/shower, once you closed the shower curtain it was very dark. We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your stay. We do hope you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Omni Hotel for four nights while we were attending a convention. The hotel is very well situated and appointed and the service was great.
The beds were very comfortable and the toiletries were excellent. One downside was that the lights were not bright enough in the room and especially in the bathroom. A second and bigger downside was that both of the rooms we were in were smelly. We had requested nonsmoking but the first room they put us in for the first night had a very strong smoke odor. We requested a change and they moved us the second day, but I am not sure it was an improvement. The new room smelled mildewy (sour) unless we kept the air conditioning turned up pretty high. The smell never did really go away. So I would recommend this hotel, but I would ask to see (and smell!) the room they put you in before you agree to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majorprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We thank you for your valuable feedback. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. Unfortunately, some guests disregard our policy. We do take steps to deep clean each room after guests have smoked. I'm very sorry for any residual odor. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide our usual standard of clean, comfortable accommodations and superior customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheeseville, wi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

First off let me be clear that we stayed during ACL. I'm sure that is why it was so expensive. Other than the price, we were very happy with our stay. Super comfortable beds and quiet considering the events. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were a little dated in my book though. We have stayed at hotels throughout the country and the Omni does need to consider updating the bathrooms. The plain beige tile reminds me of every home built in the late 90's.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during ACL. We value your input and hope you will consider returning to our hotel for next year's ACL event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently my friends and I stayed here 5 nights for ACL. The hotel itself is nice, and we thoroughly enjoyed the downstairs bar and bartenders, especially one of the female bartenders (can't remember her name) who was a great mixologist and introduced us to several new drinks - thanks for recommending the New York Sour!!
The problem came one night as my friends and I were returning to the room, and were immediately approached by the midnight shift manager (Michael Nance or Vance?), as well as a security guard, asking us to be quiet. This was fine, except we had literally just returned to our room and were not being loud by any means! The breaking point was when the security guard went as far as to point a taser gun at my friend, for no reason, as my friend was listening to what the manager was saying, which actually scared my friend. His behavior was completely ridiculous and I felt severely disrespected by this manager. I even went as far as to try and discuss this matter the following day with the manager, and he was completely unapolgetic and could have cared less. As a professional person, with a doctorate degree, I have to say that I don't conduct myself in childlike/careless manner, even when on vacation, and was upset to see myself and my friends treated in such a poor manner.
This was my first time staying at an Omni hotel, and while it was in a good location in Austin, I will probably choose to stay somewhere else next time after such threatening, uncalled for behavior.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flemingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments regarding our hotel. We do appreciate your positive notes. Unfortunately we have many guests who return to the hotel and create a disturbance or make noise and we respond to ask the guests in the noisy room to respect our other guests and quiet down. We often respond with a security officer. It should be noted that none of our security officers carry any weapons of any kind including tasers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place is in a good location, and that is the last positive thing I will say about this dump. First you walk into the decor of Atlantic City 1993. Old, horrid decor, carpeting and design. If it is any indication the restaurant (That I wouldn't dare try) has blue water glasses on the tables. The rooms are worse. Time for a serious update! Besides that the bed and bedding. My wife and I both found the beds were awful! We both had back and neck issues for days after sleeping on them. If you have to stay here, bring an air mattress and use that. Also, I found it hard to sleep due to sever allergies. I found that strange, because outside I was fine, but when I got to the room my allergies acted up terribly. I investigated, and found dust on ledges, pictures, and giant clump of lint in the out blowing air ducts. There was a disgusting brown stain behind the toilets in the bathroom. Just filthy! When I brought it to a managers attention, he asked, "Would you like us to fix that?" I was in shock. Yes, I would like you to fix the feces stains, and unbreathable air in my room, if it's not too much trouble. The place is a dump, management is rude and clueless, old furnishings and appointments, and overall one of the worst hotels Ive had the displeasure of staying in. Never again Omni.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Floundered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Just for those who read this review...this guest brought 2 dogs into the hotel and did not notify our desk staff. While he was out for the evening we had to remove the barking dogs as they were disturbing other guests. He was quite angry that we had to speak to him as "his dogs never bark". When we spoke to him about this he threatened to write bad reviews on this and other sites. I personally addressed this guest and we even offered to care for his dogs while he went out the second night of his stay. Which we did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stay at about 45 hotels per year for work and this is the best one. I have stayed here two different times and received a double upgrade for being a black status in Omni's to the executive floor. Room was amazing, two bathrooms, nice living room, huge shower, and my arrival gift of free wine and cheese. My coworker received the get fit suite, which had a gourmet kitchen and a exercise area with a full size treadmill facing a small flat screen TV.

The good:
Good fitness center
Comfy beds
Front desk staff is great and loyalty ambassador made sure I got my upgrade day of arrival.
Quiet.
Amazing location.
Nice rooftop pool (not for swimming, just for looks)

The bad:
To get to the fitness center you have to walk across the lobby and a restaurant.

***Note to people complaining about paying for wifi, no access to pool, etc. You are all really dumb, the Select Guest program is free to join and you instantly receive free wifi, access to pool, and 4 free drinks in the morning delivered to your door****

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. We're pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations in every way and appreciate your patronage as an Omni Hotels Select Guest Black Level Member. We look forward to welcoming you home during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,937 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing