We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #40 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Average decor
Average rooms
Average service
Average prices

In short, just average. You can find better elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I would very much welcome speaking with you regarding your stay. If you have a moment please contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    749
    314
    178
    120
See reviews for
375
666
122
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Was there for a three-day conference. Very nice, friendly staff, located near lovely running trail near a lake. Decent food. Good downtown location. Walk to nice restaurants, etc. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for the comments. All of our associates are focused on quality guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I recently stayed here during SXSW, and even though it was their busiest time, I had an excellent experience. The lobby is nice, the staff was very courteous and helpful, the rooms lived up to expectations.
It's not the newest or most luxurious place in Austin, but it's an elegant, comfortable stay.
Definitely would stay there any time I'm in Austin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city and away from the elevators, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septemberfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Two weeks after my Orlando Renaissance nightmare I arrived Austin. What a surprise and delight. I arrived at midnight and was treated like royalty. Some of the best hotel service I have ever seen (at all levels) and it was consistent throughout the stay. Concierge Bill Cooke was amazing and helped me navigate a solo business trip perfectly.I would go back to this hotel for personal travel. Note - some people complained about construction noise. I was on the 8th floor and never noticed it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing atrium provide beautiful view in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19mrpb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Service: Excellent.
Location: Very close to 6th Street, night-life and restaurants.
Room: comfortable and clean
Breakfast: Buffet, tasty but expensive.

This full service property is wonderful. Be sure to join their Select Guest programs as perks are immediate.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 14 and higher undergoing renovation. Ask for a lower floor to avoid construction nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharingLifeTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I regularly stay at the Omni when traveling to Austin for work. (Their loyalty program is one of the best in the business.)

Checking in is always super easy, staff are friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are large and clean. I've never had a problem staying here. Location is perfect, just a few blocks from 6th street restaurants and bars.

Particularly if you travel to this hotel a lot, the staff makes an effort to get to know you and greet you by name. I always appreciate the little touches like the free coffee delivered to your room in the morning, and it's these things that keep me coming back to the Omni every time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed here the night of my bachelorette party and we were very pleased with our room. It was comfy, clean and had a nice view. The manager bought us a round of drinks before he headed out for the night. This is a great place to stay for the price and location. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kw12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrAustin, General Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#24 of 203 in Austin
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Property: Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing