We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni great as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stay at an Omni in any city that they have one (build more!). This short weekend trip was picked due to the fact that Austin has the Omni. When we arrived, the bell staff and front desk are awesome. Tip them WELL. Valet is very quick and efficient. We are frequent Omni visitors and have stayed at almost every hotel. We were upgraded to a suite that was sweet. They are in the process of updating but you could not ask for more room and the private elevator was nice as well. If I had to complain, the room on the 6th street side of the building can be noisy from the street music but this is no fault of the hotel.
Great management as quality like this does not happen otherwise.

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for the great words, and I'll pass along to our corporate team to pick up the pace on the new hotels! We are glad to hear that everything was above the expectations you have for the hotel during your stay and hope that you are able to visit Austin again before long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,603 - 2,609 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at the Omni for my yearly girls trip. It was a great hotel - the rooms were clean and nice, the hotel bar is awesome and the concierge service was amazing! The Omni is also in an awesome location - 6th Street bars are a couple of blocks away, South Congress is a long walk or 5 minute cab ride. The gym was nice and clean and the rooftop pool was nice as well. My only complaint was that it was a little loud, meaning we could hear people outside (maybe because we were on the third floor) and the people on our floor were also super loud (not the hotel's fault). Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying on a higher floor to block out some of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rochelle4881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We spent a family weekend in one of the Omni's two bedroom suites. They seem to have plenty of these, so the price is pretty reasonable. For that you get an amazing amount of space (1400 sq ft, 6 rooms), including two bathrooms, a kitchen and a full dining room and a study. There is even a washer and dryer. Sort of curious, really. There must have been a reason other than standard hotel suites to buid this out. The room furnishings are not really up to Omni's usual standards, and in this particular case were a bit worn and tired. I'm guessing they haven't been renovated along with most of the hotel. I don't think the kitchen was actually equipped with pots and pans, but had a stove, oven and micro wave. All was clean, the linens and towels were up to Omni's high standards and the service was excellent. Having that much space is a luxury in and of itself. The hotel's location one block north of the 6th Street entertainment district is great, but you might want to request an interior room (looks out over the atrium lobby separating the hotel from the adjacent office building - there is plenty of natural light, so don't worry about that) as the noise from 6th street can last into the early hours. We'll be back. This is a great family option, or could be good for couples traveling together.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are much quieter, being isolated from 6th street noise, and have plenty of natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Omni Austin Hotel. Our suites are going to be renovated starting in the next few weeks so during your next stay with us you will see the great improvements that have been made. We look forward to seeing you on your next family weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Really nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Great location to lots of shops and restaurants.
You have to try "Perry's" for their famous pork chops.

Room Tip: Check out the roof top pool. It is awesome up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A great place to stay. The rooms are beautiful and clean! The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Walking distance to so many fun places. Stayed the weekend of the OSU--Texas football game. We were treated great by everyone. Would stay again:)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is just blocks from hopping 6th Street, the Warehouse District, the State Capital and a short walk (15 minutes) to UT. The room was spacious, clean and modern. The two problems: The noise in my 9th floor room from the atrium lobby was ever-present. The concierge was useless. You would think in a nice hotel located in a tourist area, the concierge would have good recommendations and be on the ball. Not the case. I twice tried to get some assistance and found both individuals to be clueless. I asked for a fun nightspot to visit on a Sunday evening and they told me about playing Jango because it was Sunday-Funday. I'm 50 years old and hopefully appear more worldly than the type that Jango would excite. It's a hip town, they should train their concierge to offer useful advice.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room, atrium noise is annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David4advice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I've stayed at this Omni on trips spanning 20 year, and love coming back. This hotel has beautiful public spaces, a terrific staff, and well-appointed rooms.

Great location, only a couple of blocks away from 6th Street entertainment and from the Texas Capitol.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniTexasMgr, E-Commerce Manager at Omni Austin Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We appreciate your continued loyalty to Omni Hotels and are glad to hear that you are still excited to come back and visit. Thank you for continuing to choose us and we look forward to your next trip to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 203 in Austin
2,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#25 of 203 in Austin
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Austin Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Austin Hotel Downtown

Address: 700 San Jacinto at 8th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $186 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Austin Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Austin Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Austin
Austin Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing