We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service saves this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #105 of 204 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I had to stay at this hotel for an extended period if time due to a job placement. the hotel is old and is starting to show it. there were major renovations underway when I was there but even after staying in a "renovated" room, it still felt old.

the amenities are great. nice gym, pool and location is fantastic.


service is exceptional.

Food options in hotel are limited, but why would eat in this hotel which is so close to multiple options downtown.

overall adequate hotel with service that fantastic

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Inder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business on December 9th and 10th of 2013. The room was very clean and nicely appointed. The mattress was a bit lumpy, but not uncomfortable. It just was not a new mattress. They have Starbucks Coffee in the hotel with excellent service. I ordered room service while there and the food was great and the service very prompt. This hotel is located right off IH-35 and very near to downtown (walking distance). The seminar I attended was across the street and the hotel was very accommodating. I checked out of the hotel early on my last day but the bellman put my luggage in my car and they keep my car for the whole day until I was ready to leave without a hassle. Overall, a thumbs up and Austin is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mychapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Incredibly convenient. Clean and modern. The staff was great–especially Frances who waited on us at the restaurant. She was outstanding. She even remembered that I liked decaf the next morning. The breakfast buffet was worth the price. Loved the biscuits and gravy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbrenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tiffany Strawn was an outstanding server for both of the breakfasts we enjoyed. She brought us more of the pastries from the buffet and poured our coffee in a timely manner. She checked back frequently and was prompt in fulfilling our requests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The service from the hotel staff was great, including the front desk staff and the bellhops. We were traveling with an infant and there were no problems. The indoor-to-outdoor pool is fun. Coffee is good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Asked for a Concierge Level Room and hotel provided; it was nice to be able to enjoy free breakfast and snacks throughout the day (including beverages). Excellent Staff; very attentive. Had a semi-corner room (nicely furnished) however the air did not seem to cool to our satisfaction. One call to the front desk and they brought us a box fan, which did the job. -- Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Location is central to the Capitol, 6th Street and I-35.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of I-35. -- Request a room on a Conceirge Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a full service hotel bellman, waitstaff. On arrival front desk and bellman were very responsive. The room was on the smaller side for 250.00 per night. Big screen tv no bumming cold water in sink but it did work in bathroom which was deprecate, I had asked for a fridge in the room which they accommodated . The last night they ch argued me 50 dollars more becuse there was a convention in town which I didn't think was fair on a weds night but the staff told me to take it up with management though I had to leave for the airport. The location was right off the highway and not far from center city. Room service was good and punctual but be aware there is a delivery fee and gratuity already in the bill. Don't pay a second tip if you don't mean too, often tricks us into tipping twice

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $188 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing