We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice views, easy to get to, great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #89 of 197 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice views, easy to get to, great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel has a nice feel, with large windows throughout the lobby floors and easy walk to the capital. I have stayed here many times for conferences. Food was good, rooms clean, service excellent. I love the sheraton beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSchafer226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    272
    227
    98
    49
See reviews for
100
168
49
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recently booked this hotel for our stay in Austin for ACL Music Festival. Room clean and bedding crisp. We reported an issue with a noisy mechanical unit when we got to our room and asked that it be addressed while out for lunch. Returned and unit was nearly silent, issue resolved. Convenient location and good amenities. Will return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jesse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you travel by air often you know you have very limited options to carry on. I was much impressed when I got to my room to find that I had a small care package on my bathroom sink including a nail file and several other items. There was also 3 bottles of water waiting on my table and free wifi. Everyone charges for wifi what a delight. I asked for a room up high and was given a room on the 14th floor :). The rooms are basic nothing out of the ordinary but I was pleased with my stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our complimentary amenities were a pleasant surprise upon your arrival and that we were able to accommodate your floor requests. We try to ensure that every guest leaves our property 100% satisfied with their stay and we hope you did as well. Please consider us again for your next trip to Austin. We would love to have you back again soon.
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Worst designed parking garage: Sharp turns, narrow passages, and stairs are hidden = hazardous conditions to anyone walking in the garage after parking.

Elevators are few (only three) and old (jerky stops and starts). As a result, it takes a long time to get onto an elevator if the hotel has a conference. The indicator lights on the lobby level were out for at least four days without even getting them fixed. The panel lights inside the elevators were improperly lit, making it look like indicator lights for floors 3-10 were lit up even though they were not.

The bed was too soft. We woke up with sore backs.

Maid service lacks attention to details: We had to call twice to get service in a 4-hour window. The maid forgot to bring new towels two days in a row. After service, used and empty water cups were still on the table. The woman's restroom on the lobby level reeked at least in two mornings during our four-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Éire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The last time I stayed in Austin it was two weeks at the Driskill so maybe I was spoiled, but this hotel is old (stained tiles, old carpet and elevators, dated in general), and definitely not recommended if you have other options for similar price.

My biggest complaint was that I got a bite (bed bug?) while staying there. I was in room 1224, bed nearest the window.

My biggest compliment was every single staff member was pleasant. This is rarely the case, even in the best of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaoireSaoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your last stay with us. We appreciate our guests’ feedback so that we can improve our future guests’ satisfaction. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel to meet your expectations. We do appreciate you letting us know which room you stayed in so that we could look into your comment. Our pest control company is assessing the situation, and will appropriately treat the room based on the outcome. We hope that the appeal of our friendly staff members draws you back to our hotel very soon. We look forward to the opportunity to host you here again.
Thank you again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel is right off 35 (plus), close enough to the hot spots (plus) and U. Texas (plus) but while the common space is pretty nice, the rooms are in need of an upgrade - especially for what they're charging here. I would have expected something FAR nicer for the amount paid though I suppose the rooms were about what you'd expect at a Sheraton (just at Westin or W prices). Two of the pillow cases had some wear/stains on them (ick!) and the walls looked somewhat battle-tested in areas. Could also use some new towels (and some more towels). Lots of noise coming in from the hallway. That said, the hotel is relatively clean and comfortable enough. Friendly and helpful staff. On-site store could have been open later as there aren't many options for snacks/food nearby without getting the car out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Many renovations have been done since our last stay here, three years ago. It is in a very good location to 6th Street and the staff is always friendly and willing to be of any assistance. You are greeted at every location in the hotel with friendly, smiling faces and a positive attitude. Rooms are clean and well maintained and the setting around the bar is very upscale and modern. The outdoor pool and indoor pool facilities are well maintained and clean with separate locker rooms. Workout facilities have both an exercise room and a cardio room, that are well designed and maintained. We spent four days here and had a very good experience. Will go back next time we are in Austin.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKeely11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing