We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #100 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was in a good location. We were able to walk downtown without any problems. Sixth street was not too far away and neither was Congress Avenue. The hotel was not too busy either. The only issue was the elevators were always busy. So that is something to consider when booking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

604 - 610 of 986 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

stayed one night for business, the bar was nice, had 2 margarita's (should have had one, but they were too good! and the bar staff so friendly and obliging!). The room was good, although a little bit of noise from the highway which might disturb some, otherwise worked well for me in terms of location etc. The breakfast to my room was good. I would go again although I heard the Hilton is better (???).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton Austin for a conference. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to lots of restaurants and entertainment. The hotel itself is beautiful and the facilities for the conference were wonderful. The room was okay, but pretty standard. No refrigerator and the bathrooms needed some maintenance/updating. The club lounge was a bit of a disappointment compared to other hotels I have stayed in. You had to mix your own drinks and the food selections they offered were pretty slim. The staff was great. Very helpful and prompt. The luncheon during our conference was excellent as were the snacks offered during our breaks. Overall a good hotel, but the rooms definitely need some updating or improving. And I don't understand paying for self-parking when you're paying to stay at the hotel. Valet I can understand paying for, but not to self-park when there is nowhere else to park. But that seems to be the standard in Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txbatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay during your conference. We love receiving comments and suggestions on how we can improve our guests’ experience. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the conference you attended and the food and beverage served at your event. You may have seen from previous comments that we will begin our rooms renovation this summer where several updates will be taking place. The club lounge will be part of this update as well. Hopefully your conference will take place at our hotel again; we look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future!
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

As with most American, and especially Texan, hotels you cant fault the service. Overall a great hotel and food is very good. Only minor point is the coffee bar is closed until 3pm directing you to the restaurant but when a conference is on (as was on my stay), its nearly impossible to get a coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had very comfortable sleep at the Sheraton Austin by the Capitol. A Manager Trey was very helpful, and wanted to assure that all my needs were met. The operator Nellie was friendly, and helpful. For people who want to workout at a hotel there is a cardio room,and also a weight room with Life Fitness equipment to use . Both of those rooms are on the First Floor. The lobby is on the Third floor. The breakfast buffet features scrambled eggs but guests can request special prepared eggs such as sunny side up, and over easy. The hotel is walking distance to the Capitol.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter10079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the third year staying at the Sheraton Austin at the Capitol. Our prior experiences have been excellent (see previous review from last year); but our room this year was very disappointing. When I tried to check in early I was told I HAD to have the reservation number in order to be verified. I did not have that information with me; and there are many other ways to verify that information. And then the room; so tired and sad -- the desk chair, which had a leatherish covering was worn off completely at the knee area. Unforgiveable for a $300/night room.
I will say that the employees, for the most part, are very nice and quite accommodating and they are to be commended.
I won't be staying at this property next year. Sorry Sheraton.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad you let us know about your most recent stay with us. Repeat guest business is very important to us so we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We apologize that you did not find our property to meet your expectations from previous visits. You may have noticed from other review responses that starting on June 1st we will begin our multi-million dollar renovation project. We will be replacing room furnishings, including the desk chairs, carpets, and much more. We are highly anticipating these updates and we hope they entice you to stay with us again. We hope that you still found our beds to be as heavenly as last year’s trip and our service excellent as well. We would love to have a familiar face back on property and hope to see you again next year.
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a nicely appointed hotel which is situated between 6th Street and the Capital. The lobby area is beautiful. Rooms are nice and clean. We had a little trouble with housekeeping. Two nights there was something not refilled. However, when I would call and they came up within minutes with what was missing. The third day, housekeeping didn't show up at all. Apparently they have a new floor manager so they were working the kinks out.

There is a bar/restaurant close by that has live music outside. We were on that side of the hotel, so the noise level from it was pretty loud. Had to use earplugs to be able sleep.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on the side where the band can be heard at night
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $183 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing