We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #95 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had very comfortable sleep at the Sheraton Austin by the Capitol. A Manager Trey was very helpful, and wanted to assure that all my needs were met. The operator Nellie was friendly, and helpful. For people who want to workout at a hotel there is a cardio room,and also a weight room with Life Fitness equipment to use . Both of those rooms are on the First Floor. The lobby is on the Third floor. The breakfast buffet features scrambled eggs but guests can request special prepared eggs such as sunny side up, and over easy. The hotel is walking distance to the Capitol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter10079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    302
    256
    108
    61
See reviews for
113
188
55
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the third year staying at the Sheraton Austin at the Capitol. Our prior experiences have been excellent (see previous review from last year); but our room this year was very disappointing. When I tried to check in early I was told I HAD to have the reservation number in order to be verified. I did not have that information with me; and there are many other ways to verify that information. And then the room; so tired and sad -- the desk chair, which had a leatherish covering was worn off completely at the knee area. Unforgiveable for a $300/night room.
I will say that the employees, for the most part, are very nice and quite accommodating and they are to be commended.
I won't be staying at this property next year. Sorry Sheraton.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad you let us know about your most recent stay with us. Repeat guest business is very important to us so we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We apologize that you did not find our property to meet your expectations from previous visits. You may have noticed from other review responses that starting on June 1st we will begin our multi-million dollar renovation project. We will be replacing room furnishings, including the desk chairs, carpets, and much more. We are highly anticipating these updates and we hope they entice you to stay with us again. We hope that you still found our beds to be as heavenly as last year’s trip and our service excellent as well. We would love to have a familiar face back on property and hope to see you again next year.
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a nicely appointed hotel which is situated between 6th Street and the Capital. The lobby area is beautiful. Rooms are nice and clean. We had a little trouble with housekeeping. Two nights there was something not refilled. However, when I would call and they came up within minutes with what was missing. The third day, housekeeping didn't show up at all. Apparently they have a new floor manager so they were working the kinks out.

There is a bar/restaurant close by that has live music outside. We were on that side of the hotel, so the noise level from it was pretty loud. Had to use earplugs to be able sleep.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on the side where the band can be heard at night
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a $5 voucher for not having housekeeping come every day.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location! Rooms are super clean, as are the bathrooms! Very prompt and attentive service by Housekeeping! Friendly and helpful staff! Did not eat in the hotel, so no comments there! Definitely will be back next time we're in town!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BamacatSWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property for the SXSWi Festival this year.
The hotel facilities are good overall: rooms are spacious, as the bathrooms, and they have good beds and nice showers, as well as nice desk space and closets. But as said in other reviews, its a bit ill-kept.
The hotel is 10 min from the core of Downtown, but it can be a pleasant walk.
Our stay would be an uneventful one had it not been for a Fire Alarm going off - apparently because of a defect in the elevators. Noone was hurt, but it was a tad scary - and after that happened, we noticed that the electrical structure of our room was quite unstable - power outlets got hot when we charged our phones, for example.
Breakfast was simple, but food was fresh and plenty even though lacking variety - cheese and cold cuts, for instance.
Front desk was always attentive and helpful - the only similarity to the other Sharatons I've been to.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jvilhena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your SXSW experience with us in March. We are always glad to receive guest feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property, the friendly staff, and the comfortable accommodations. We apologize that you did experience an interruption during your stay but we hope that was resolved when you were here with us. We know that Austin is very busy during the city wide events so we hope you will consider staying with us again next year for the event if not sooner!
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I have always good experiences at Sheraton hotels and this is not an exception.
Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. I had dinner and lunch at the restaurant a couple of times, they didn't have much variety of dishes, and the food was good but a little pricey. Although desserts were to die for.
My only complain is that the pillows were too high and hard and I woke up with an awful neck pain... I ended up using a towel as a pillow, but I'm sure they would have gave me a different pillow if I requested.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is riddled with issues - old, dated and dirty!

Issues in my room:
**Wifi didn't work, even after I spent 20 minutes on the phone with tech support.
**The carpet was so dirty that the bottom of my white socks are filthy.
**The tub drain stopper was not properly installed, which caused the water to drain so slowly that there was about 2" of water in the tub during a shower.
**Moldy smell in the shower - likely from the caulking, which showed visible mold/mildew.
**The shaving/make-up mirror was missing a nut to hold it steady, which made the mirror useless.
**Toiletries were not refreshed.
**Desk chair was a regular, armless banquet chair, just like the ones in the banquet room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay and that the accommodations were not up to par. Our property will be going through a thorough room renovation this summer. Items you mentioned will be updated including our chairs, carpets, and more. We hope you will consider this for future trips to Austin and that our staff left you with a memorable impression too.
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing