We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5 Stars - Terribly in Need of Cleaning & Remodeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #105 of 204 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is riddled with issues - old, dated and dirty!

Issues in my room:
**Wifi didn't work, even after I spent 20 minutes on the phone with tech support.
**The carpet was so dirty that the bottom of my white socks are filthy.
**The tub drain stopper was not properly installed, which caused the water to drain so slowly that there was about 2" of water in the tub during a shower.
**Moldy smell in the shower - likely from the caulking, which showed visible mold/mildew.
**The shaving/make-up mirror was missing a nut to hold it steady, which made the mirror useless.
**Toiletries were not refreshed.
**Desk chair was a regular, armless banquet chair, just like the ones in the banquet room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay and that the accommodations were not up to par. Our property will be going through a thorough room renovation this summer. Items you mentioned will be updated including our chairs, carpets, and more. We hope you will consider this for future trips to Austin and that our staff left you with a memorable impression too.
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sorry, but that's what really stands out in my mind about the Sheraton Austin. I was worried as I approached the building- it's not a very attractive place, reminding me of a mid-80's dentist office for some reason. But, the moment you step into the bright, clean, fabulous-smelling lobby, you'll know that you made the right choice. I don't know if they're just pumping 1,000 gallons of FeBreeze through the system or what, but it all just seems so fresh and clean!

The rooms are exactly what you would expect at this price range in this location- a little older, but well maintained and squeaky clean. I stayed on the club level and had exclusive access to all that the "club" had to offer (free sodas). It was a very easy walk down to 6th street, but the Sheraton is also served by some nice bicycle taxis which will take you there for a pittance.

It's a good hotel. I'd stay there again, for sure.

Cheers and Safe Travels,
Patty

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyDumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in this huge hotel and felt very comfortable. They offer a very nice restaurant, in which also the breakfast is served. The service personel war excellent. The only bad thing I must mention is that parking in the hotel's own garage was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DETraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I where in Austin the weekend of April 20 , 2013. We needed a room and the manager Tre was able to accommodate us. We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton Austin at the Capitol. Very clean hotel and the staff is very nice. If you are in the area this hotel is an awesome choice.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I believe are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firefox1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

There for a conference. Very nice place just a few minutes walk from the capitol building. While the location is 11th Street, it's really only a couple city streets from the main restaurants, bars, lounges, etc. Nice wide sidewalks for walkers and well marked crosswalks.

The main entrance is next to the riverwalk. While the riverwalk sidewalks are not maintained as well as I would like it's a easy way to move from destination to destination without dealing with traffic.

The lobby bar is nice for coffee and yogurt in the morning. Lots of windows to make it bright and warm. Plenty of sitting areas around the lobby with good wireless connection. In the evening the lobby bar is a happening location with a good selection of bar snacks, drinks and multiple TVs for the sport watcher.

The staff was friendly and helpful, from showing destinations on maps to making recommendations on places to eat.

I didn't rent a car because of the cost of parking. The parking garage is next to the hotel but with the bus system in the city you don't need it.

The room was comfortable, clean and warm. Great pillows and lots of them. There was free water bottles placed in the room every day which would be nice on the hot summer days.

Room Tip: Elevators are noisy. Most of the rooms overlook more buildings. None of the rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toshua99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Was in town for a medical conference with my wife; conference centered at this venue as well as accommodations for attendees. Guest services are literally at your finger tips; easy in/out parking;questions immediately addressed by the front desk or on-duty concierge; handy area map at front desk identifying local restaurants and attractions; staff at lobby bar most accommodating/attentive. Close to Texas capital history attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed on 10; the 10th floor is good, quiet, kinda 'kid free'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshall047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not at all what I expect from a Sheraton for $200 a night. I will not stay here again. The room was completely average. The parking garage was a joke. There is no where else to park other than a garage without an elevator. Try carrying your luggage up and down flight after flight of stairs. Not fun. And the stairwell in the garage is super disgusting. I've seen safer looking areas in third world countries. The pool area belongs in a trailer park. Not happy with this place, and I will not return.

Room Tip: Parking is $16 a night to park in the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for providing us with some feedback on your stay. We apologize that you were not pleased with our property. Our parking garage does have access to an elevator that does go to floors 1-4 but does not reach the top level. The pool area is going to be updated this summer during our renovation. Thank you again for commenting.
Your Sheraton Austin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $189 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing