We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a business traveler's hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #92 of 200 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a business traveler's hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

After several frustrating stays here back to back I gave up and beat feet for either the W or the Westin at the Domain. Problem? This place packs groups of kids/college students in like sardines. Said kids run the halls at night making TONS of noise laughing, chatting, etc. Or, worse, coming back in after tearing up 6th street laughing, yelling, fighting, punching walls (seriously), randomly beating on doors (twice happened to me).

The staff is responsive and apologetic but short of beating the adult supervision that SHOULD be keeping their kids in check and in rooms, there's not much they can do. They do send up security and that sends the young'uns scurrying but 20 minutes later they're back out in force.

Beyond that? The property is old and in need of a re-do. The lobby is '80s fabulous with mirrored walls everywhere, a floor worn smooth by years of be-sneakered group guests, tired fixtures and furnishings in the rooms, a musty smell to boot, only moderately effective AC/heating, and worn bathrooms. Only plus? The bed was comfortable.

If you need access to the UT campus, this is where you're gonna want to stay just due to location. Wanting to hit downtown Austin? Stay elsewhere, there's just not much around.

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from any groups in the hotel. The front desk advised me that's precisely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OyVeyzMeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. We do appreciate your repeat business and apologize that you did not find our property 100% satisfactory. Due to our location near campus and Downtown we do attract a variety of guests all week long. Our security staff is on property to make sure all guests are safe and additionally they do make an effort to keep noise complaints to a minimum. Our rooms renovation will be taking place this summer where we will be updating some of the items you mentioned above. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again if you do need a closer location to downtown and will find our new furnishings more to your liking. We would love to have you back as our guest but we are happy you have found other Starwood locations that you enjoy as well.
Hoping to see you soon, thank you again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    292
    249
    106
    59
See reviews for
113
183
54
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed, about our 3rd time.

Location is okay, but not as close as other hotels to restuarants, but close enough to walk.It is closer to UT than other hotels, walkable to games. Parking garage is easy to use.

Full service hotel. Rooms are nice. When the room was cleaned, not enough towels or cups were left in the room. Sound insulation between connecting rooms is poor, 2 of 3 nights, people in the next room were not loud, but we could hear conversation as if they were in our room through the closed connecting door.

We also liked the lobby bar for a drink.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dans660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. We apologize that you did not feel the rooms were insulated enough and that we did not provide enough cups and towels in the room. We are happy to hear that you did like the lobby bar, found your room in good condition, the parking garage easily accessible, and enjoyed our properties location. We hope to see you back again soon!
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
319 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Lobby is nice and updated. Rooms show age esp bathroom. Desk chair was worn to thread bare. Given the age room was clean and bed was comfortable. Here for business so it was ok. Not sure I would stay here on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsc145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our lobby area enjoyable. We do apologize that you found our rooms to be outdated. We are highly anticipating our renovation this summer where will be replacing several of the items you mentioned, including the guest room chairs. Please consider this update for your next trip to Austin because we would love to serve you here again.
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here the weekend (2 nights) after SXSW with another couple sharing the same room, so perhaps part of our issues where carry-over from that. (and it was the same weekend as NCAA BB tourney, which we didn't know was happening there when we booked it; which helped explain why it was the only room available for less than $300/night)
First the good: Very nice and helpful staff; decent location for access to Capitol and Univ of TX (incl LBJ Museum by city bus). Okay for access to 6th street, but the walk is thru a somewhat seedy area.
Bad: Our first room had a wet floor. Luckily we had not unpacked. It took them a while to move us to another room, which was considerably smaller than the original room. This room had thick dust on the desk; the rest of the room was okay, but not spotless. I showed the desk clerk a photo of the desk, with the dust, and she comped our breakfast.
What to do: 6th street of course (and now we know why they say "Keep Austin Wierd"), a driving tour based at the Visitors Center on 6th, LBJ Museum on UT campus, SOCO area.
Would I stay here again? Not if I can get a hotel closer to 6th at a better price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your hotel experience. We apologize that you did have to switch rooms during your stay and that the room did not meet your expectations. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the location of our property and that you found our staff was able to assist your needs. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Austin.
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This property has been part of Sheraton for at least 10 years. It is a worn, downtown facility that has been renovated over the years but still needs some work. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. It is perfectly located with easy access to downtown Austin and the University of Texas.

Room Tip: Do not get the room by the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We truly appreciate our return guests’ comments. Our staff is always glad to hear that you found our property to be clean and our staff friendly. You may have noticed from previous reviews that we are highly anticipating our rooms renovations this summer. We hope to see you soon and that you will enjoy our property even more.
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here during SXSW and was a great choice. Close enough to walk to conference events, but far enough away from the craziness. Staff were friendly and professional from front desk to bar to gift shop to housekeepers. The wireless signal was a little weak, but there was Internet cable in the sleeping rooms. Be sure to take a five minute stroll east of the hotel (across the highway) and check out the Blue Dahlia Bistro for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The lobby area is quite bright and welcoming, however once you get out of the elevator it looks like a typical 80's Sheraton that needs a makeover. My room felt really dark and I couldn't get the room temperature correct and in the end I just turned it off completely. My shower head was hanging out of a hole in the wall, and the whole bathroom just looked like it needed upgrading. I had to unplug a lamp next to my bed to charge up my phone overnight
The valet was prompt and the staff were attentive and helpful, i didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on food or beverage services.
If I don't need to be downtown I wouldn't choose this hotel, I much prefer the Westin at the domain

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada_gal_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you did find our staff to be helpful and accommodating. We are in the process of repairing all A/C units within each room, along with several other updates throughout the hotel this summer, and we apologize that you did have trouble with thermostat. Hopefully, if you do need to be in the Downtown Austin area again, we will see you soon and you will enjoy many updates.
Sincerely,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing