We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost Items”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #91 of 200 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cibol
1 review
“Lost Items”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel during a weekend retreat, The first night when we walked into the room smelled like a wet moldy shower, so they moved us to another room, next when moved into the next room it was cold so when we turned the heat on it never warmed up in the room, so the maintain eve guy can and checked the heat and the boiler was out, the maintenance guy restarted the boiler and the heat finally came on. Just when I thought things were good we were leaving I lost my shoe somewhere and when I called back to see if anyone found it nothing it disappeared. So my advice is find somewhere else to stay because they are going to spend a lot of time fixing things and if you lose something valuable you will never see it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaKia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We apologize that our property did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our housekeeping department does keep record of lost and found information and unfortunately the shoe has not turned up. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the near future.
Thank you,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    293
    249
    107
    59
See reviews for
113
183
54
441
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am a platinum SPG member, so I am generally a big fan of almost every Starwood hotel. I travel to Austin a lot, so I've stayed in all the Starwood properties. This one just isn't good for working: the desk chair in my room was disgusting (picture attached ) - looked like it had been long suffering. The internet didn't work - both my computers stopped getting a connection after an hour. After a 30 minute conversation with an almost rude tech support agent they figured out what I told them in the beginning: there was a problem with the local router. I was told it would be fixed in an hour - but it NEVER was - so I had to LEAVE the hotel and find a coffee shop so I could work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTX76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Our loyal Starwood guests are our highest priority and we apologize that our property did not meet your expectations. Because of other business traveler comments, like yours, we are highly anticipating our WiFi update this summer along with a full room renovation. Furnishings in the rooms, carpets, and televisions are just a few items that will be updated. We apologize that the situation was not resolved during your stay and hope to correct the issue for all future reservations. We hope your business travel brings you to Austin again shortly and to have the opportunity to provide you with excellent service.
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Usually one expects more from the downtown hotels than the highway budget chains. Better quality, better service, higher standards. This hotel proved that one should never assume anything. We have traveled to Austin many times but had never stayed in this hotel. In town for business, this was the conference hotel. Two nights in this hotel, we encountered dirty sheets (large yellow greasy stains in multiple places), the lamps in the room unplugged, no washcloths in the bathroom, the toilet stopped up and the smallest $200 a night room I have ever seen! Honestly left me shaking my head! Now for the bright spot - when I called guest services (only called twice - about the sheets and washcloths), I was greeted by name and the situations were corrected. I really appreciated their attention. However, should this many issues been present in the first place? As for returning to this hotel - there are too many other places in Austin that are really much better!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank texastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for proving us with your feedback. We do look into all comments and suggestions made to improve our guest’s experience. We apologize that there were issues with your room and linens. Our new Director of Housekeeping is definitely making improvements and we are anticipating more over the next several months. Thank you for bringing the situation to our staff’s attention, we are glad things got resolved promptly. We would love to host you again where we will strive to leave you 100% satisfied with your stay.
Warm Regards,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at this hotel during a romantic weekend getaway. We got a free upgrade thanks to his Starwood status. Am not quite sure what was upgraded, though. The property is old and poorly maintained in general. In our room, one of the phones was totally non-functional (was plugged in), the alarm was blinking / not set, and I had to call down 3 times for our bathrobes to be delivered.

There is an outdoor concert venue that had a concert that night - if you book a room here, be sure to ask for a room that faces away from that concert location and if there is an event during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that our property did not meet your expectations and for our tardiness in getting your robes delivered. We are anticipating a renovation this summer to update several furnishings within the guest rooms and to improve your experience. Our staff does hope that you will return to our property again shortly, we truly value our loyal Starwood guests.
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipan, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was late making reservations for a wedding in Austin. All of our favorite hotels were full. I looked at the reviews of the Sheraton and it didn't look too bad.
It was way overpriced. ($700 for 2 nights) The bathroom had mildew and a warped tub and flimsy shower curtain. The vanity only had one sink (when was the last time you saw that in a hotel?)
The toilet paper was very cheap and rough.
The carpet was dirty and the walls were stained. The chair in our room at the desk looked like a cat had clawed it.
The trashcans looked like they came from a mechanics shop, plastic, small and no liner or anything in it. gross.
The bed I have to say was pretty comfy, and the valet/car service was friendly, although a bit frazzled and unorganized when we got there on Friday evening.
The website advertises "a corner room" so you think it is a large suite type room. That floor (not sure if all floors) is zig zagged so that every room is a corner room, but has a long wasted space of hallway in each room. Also, the curtains are not blackout, the sun comes blaring in on the corners of the drapes early. (our room must have faced East)
We would not stay there again. Too expensive and not up to par.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayDreamsRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Our property definitely prides itself on our welcoming staff so we are glad we were able to host you here. Unfortunately we did not leave you fully satisfied with your stay and we truly apologize you did not find the property up to par. You may have seen in previous comments that our hotel will be going through a thorough room renovation this summer where most of the issues you mentioned will be addressed. We hope that this one encounter will not keep you from visiting us again; our staff would love to welcome you back to fresh updates again soon!
Sincerely,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at thgis property for business and found it to be a good base from which to explore Austin. The hotel is clean and sports friendly, attentive staff. I found my room to be clean, comfortable, and had a great view of the Texas capitol. It is located blocks away from the hopping 6th Street district, and blocks away from the capitol itself. It was an easy walk to multiple dining and music venues. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Austin's downtown.

Room Tip: NOt a lot of elevators, so you may want to consider a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing