We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated and Poorly Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #94 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Outdated and Poorly Maintained”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at this hotel during a romantic weekend getaway. We got a free upgrade thanks to his Starwood status. Am not quite sure what was upgraded, though. The property is old and poorly maintained in general. In our room, one of the phones was totally non-functional (was plugged in), the alarm was blinking / not set, and I had to call down 3 times for our bathrobes to be delivered.

There is an outdoor concert venue that had a concert that night - if you book a room here, be sure to ask for a room that faces away from that concert location and if there is an event during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We apologize that our property did not meet your expectations and for our tardiness in getting your robes delivered. We are anticipating a renovation this summer to update several furnishings within the guest rooms and to improve your experience. Our staff does hope that you will return to our property again shortly, we truly value our loyal Starwood guests.
Thanks again,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    296
    254
    107
    60
See reviews for
113
187
54
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lipan, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was late making reservations for a wedding in Austin. All of our favorite hotels were full. I looked at the reviews of the Sheraton and it didn't look too bad.
It was way overpriced. ($700 for 2 nights) The bathroom had mildew and a warped tub and flimsy shower curtain. The vanity only had one sink (when was the last time you saw that in a hotel?)
The toilet paper was very cheap and rough.
The carpet was dirty and the walls were stained. The chair in our room at the desk looked like a cat had clawed it.
The trashcans looked like they came from a mechanics shop, plastic, small and no liner or anything in it. gross.
The bed I have to say was pretty comfy, and the valet/car service was friendly, although a bit frazzled and unorganized when we got there on Friday evening.
The website advertises "a corner room" so you think it is a large suite type room. That floor (not sure if all floors) is zig zagged so that every room is a corner room, but has a long wasted space of hallway in each room. Also, the curtains are not blackout, the sun comes blaring in on the corners of the drapes early. (our room must have faced East)
We would not stay there again. Too expensive and not up to par.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayDreamsRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave B, General Manager at Sheraton Austin at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Our property definitely prides itself on our welcoming staff so we are glad we were able to host you here. Unfortunately we did not leave you fully satisfied with your stay and we truly apologize you did not find the property up to par. You may have seen in previous comments that our hotel will be going through a thorough room renovation this summer where most of the issues you mentioned will be addressed. We hope that this one encounter will not keep you from visiting us again; our staff would love to welcome you back to fresh updates again soon!
Sincerely,
Your Sheraton Austin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at thgis property for business and found it to be a good base from which to explore Austin. The hotel is clean and sports friendly, attentive staff. I found my room to be clean, comfortable, and had a great view of the Texas capitol. It is located blocks away from the hopping 6th Street district, and blocks away from the capitol itself. It was an easy walk to multiple dining and music venues. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Austin's downtown.

Room Tip: NOt a lot of elevators, so you may want to consider a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location near the UT campus. A bit more than we'd normally spend for a hotel, it was date night and we were going to the UT campus for an event. Nice welcome by the bellman continued with the front desk staff (Esther?) and into our room. Brian was very helpful at the Landmark getting us out on time from dinner. Our room was comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. Close to Stubbs Barbecue, El Sol y La Luna restaurant, Convention Center, and Esther's Follies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were extremely nice. However, the hotel's best asset is Mike Rodriguez, the concierge. I was there for a conference and my son wanted me to get a Houston Texans t-shirt of a specific player. I decided to ask Mike. He immediately started surfing the net. When nothing seemed to work he started calling stores although I told him that was too much trouble. He insisted and I am truly grateful. He finally found one (after calls to several stores) in the right size and had them hold it for me until I could get there. Mike truly saved me. My son is ecstatic and I couldn't have made him happy without Mike. Sheraton management has a true gem in Mike.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyOneNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was in Austin for an Association Day on the Hill. The group had meetings scheduled at the hotel, time to visit state legislators at their offices and then back to the hotel for a luncheon with the legislators. I requested a corner room on the concierge floor and had to wait to check in. Valet checking bags was easy and courteous. Front desk staff texted me when my room was ready. Spent some time in the lobby bar visiting with colleagues. Drink prices where typical for a hotel bar, $5 beer and wine (better than east or west coast but more than local watering holes in Austin-but very convenient).

Room layout was interesting. Long hallway upon entering with closet straight ahead, hard right turn at closet with sink and vanity to left and entrance to toilet / shower on right. Proceed into the room and TV and desk extend down the left side and bed to right, windows straight ahead and over desk. The view toward the north and Capitol was very nice. Functional, yet so Austin...weird.

Room was clean and interent and TV worked fine. The concierge lounge is very nice, stopped i for a snack after meetings and before going out for a late dinner. The lounge hostess was very courteous and friendly. She helped several people with the computer and printer while being engaging and keeping up with service.

The meeting rooms were very good for our function and catering did a good job with a breakfast buffet and a plated luncheon. When the keynote speaker started the wait staff was well trained to stop clearing dishes and quietly replenish drinks with no noise or distractions. So often I have been at these type of events and the staff makes so much noise yu cannot hear the program.

The location is great. It is an easy walk back and forth to the Capitol and plenty of nearby restaurants and bars. Easy access from I-35.

Overall the staff was excellent from front desk to bar tenders, conceirge lounge staff and valet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndraDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing