We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #92 of 197 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Out of the way location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here because it was "downtown" but truthfully it was a few blocks from the action on 6th St. We got a great rate and I'm sure the location was the reason. If you don't mind walking 5 or 6 blocks its not so bad. Hotel interior was nice, pool area was great. Beds in our room were pretty uncomfortable- old and saggy matresses. We got great advice on area restaurants from the guy at the front desk, the bartender in the bar area was great as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    290
    246
    105
    55
See reviews for
108
181
52
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nirvana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Truthfully, I stay at a lot of Hilton properties but I will ALWAYS stay at this Sheraton in Austin. From the front desk, maids, bell staff, and restaurant...a great property with a great location. The lobby bar was surreal this weekend thanks to Halloween AND Comic Con on the same weekend.

I had a few issues (minor) and they jumped through hoops of fire to fix them. Class act stem to stern. The shower heads and bed made for a very comfy stay...

Room Tip: 12th Floor is for Starwood Members...and very very nice rooms to boot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had a pleasant stay at the Sheraton. Its location is convenient to UT. The hotel is well run and the employees were pleasant. The beds were comfortable but the sheets were a little scratchy.
The next time I stay in Austin I will most likely go back to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was a great stay. Parking was plentiful and easy, check-in was very smooth, the lobby bar was great and staffed by wonderful people - all in all everything you want in a hotel. Room and bathroom were very clean, elevators fast - I can't think of anything to complain about! The location is perfect as well - minutes from downtown by foot. I definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again if I find myself in Austin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todoconfidel155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel has all the amenities you'd expect in a Sheraton conference center, from comfortable rooms with lots of amenities and no noisy heating/AC unit to a decent pool and fitness center. I call this hotel "nice" and give it a top ranking because the staff was friendly and helpful across the board. From the check in staff who took the extra time to help guests plan their Austin visits to the car valets who were always ready with directions and restaurant reservations to the bell captains who managed bags and guests' travel needs, I only dealt with staff who put their best foot forward to make sure I was comfortable in the hotel and able to find my way around Austin when I left the hotel. I hope the management continues to do what they are doing to keep their employees happy, because they made me feel welcome at this hotel and in Austin. It's walking distance to the Capitol Building and tourist attractions, but it's at the edge of the downtown so get directions from the staff so your walk is safe and interesting, and you'll have no problems walking around the city day or night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Sheraton Austin Capitol property is in a convenient location and offers excellent service. The rooms are comfortable and reasonably well-appointed. In particular, the bedding offered at Sheraton properties provide exceptional comfort. I highly recommend the Sheraton Austin Capitol as a lodging choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tltalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Located within walking distance of lots of neat attractions including the UT campus and LBJ library (note that most of the library is closed until mid-December), several museums, the Texas state capitol and the French Quarter-like 6ixth Street and Red River districts.

The hotel includes two nice pools (one in, one out), very good workout facilities and a genuinely friendly server at the morning coffee bar. Other staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Nice view from rooms that face downtown (request a room opposite the I-35 side of the property).

The one negative is that the room was clean, but not sparkling, and we found a number of long black hairs in and around the bathroom that didn't come from us.

Still would recommend for the many positives.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor with a view of the state capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProRecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing