We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Nearby Hotels
$289
$263
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$133
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Driskill(Austin)
$241
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveler rating
252
328
276
113
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
328
276
113
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeweight roomred riverwalking distanceself parkingsixth streetfront desk staffhotel restaurantcapitol buildinglive musicconvention centerdowntownvaletbellmanutproximitynightlife
Filter
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Check in at the hotel was easy and quick. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed and good a/c. No problems at all with noise from corridors or outside the hotel.

The parking garage is a litlle tight, but still manageable. Self parking was $16 a night. It seemed on par with the hotel location.

We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moviejunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for weekend to attend UT football game Oct 5-7th. Great location, walked to staduim, Capital. We requested adjoining room as we were travelling with 3 teenagers & at time of booking it wasn't guaranteed. I sent an email to the Guest Services & they did infact have our rooms ready early & accomodated our request. All in all it was a nice hotel. It's not the Ritz but beds were comfortable, room was clean. The only negative if I had to point something out was the carpet was pretty worn & the room was a bit on the small side and bathroom area cramped when trying to get ready. Upside to those minor details was Staff were very nice and offered suggestions where to shop for UT apparel. Definitely go to the campus Co Op store, they had everything you can imagine! Bartenders where great at the lobby bar, room service was good; prompt. They actually forgot the cream for coffee and when we called the desk, the gentleman had it up to our room in minutes and even gave us extra orange juice and fruit for the mistake.
Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling to the Austin, TX area!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stay here for a conference every fall. The staff is excellent, very attentive for our group. We've only had one issue - when check out was very backed up last year. This year - they dealt with the situation beautifully. I was even able to check in before noon - as a trainer for the conference this was very helpful. The rooms are nice, clean. It is in a great location - centrally located between the statehouse, UT and 6th street. There is one bar relatively close and if you on that side of the hotel - you can hear them playing at night. So if that bothers you ask to be on the street/front side of the hotel, or facing I-35. Nice views. Lots of places to walk or run in the morning. Can even walk down to town lake and take a run. We also easily walked to the warehouse district - although that may be a little far for some.

One of the highlights - the barrister - in the lobby coffee bar - it's a starbucks and she is bar far the nicest and best barrister I've ever had.

Great choice. I do wish that conference room and AV rental was a bit more economical when a group stays there -= but I have not compared prices enough to know if this is high or not relatively to competitors.

Couple of good restaurants very close - Stubs for Bar-b-q and Serranos for Mexican. Of course there are MANY great restaurants in the area - but these two are steps from the hotel.

Room Tip: Again - ask not to be on the "stubb's" side if loud music bothers you. A band could be playing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We used points to stay here for one night. The nightly (cash) rate was quite high and the hotel was booked full for our stay, so we felt like we got a fantastic deal staying with points. Due to our status with Starwood hotels, we also received an upgrade to the club floor. Our room was well-furnished with a very comfy king bed. We also took advantage of our access to the small, but reasonably well-stocked, lounge. Unfortunately, we left before breakfast was served.

The Sheraton is located on the northeast corner of the tourist district, a short walk to famous bars and live music venues.

There was nothing overly memorable about this hotel (which is typically a good thing). It served its purpose as a home base for exploring Austin and we slept well on the comfy beds. Definitely a solid option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend on a football trip -- not to the University of Texas ironically, but to Texas A&M about 2 hours away in College Station. This is pretty much the standard Sheraton -- maybe a little nicer as it has been recently renovated, and the lobby area has a Westin-like feel.

I am platinum with Starwood, so we were place on a Club floor, and had access to the Club Lounge (platinum and maybe gold access) on the 15th floor. That was a nice touch. Some Starwood clubs close on the weekends. This one had an excellent continental breakfast, free local newspapers and even some nice treats at night. The room itself had a great view, but was smallish. Austin is pretty hot even in late September, and the AC, while it worked, never got quite as cool as you would like. We could have asked to switch to another room, but didn't -- not sure if it was better at other rooms or maybe just the way Austin is.

Valet parking can be a mess at a lot of hotels, and I would have to say that the Sheraton folks did a good job of keeping cars pulled up and parked pretty quickly. It is worth noting the hotel is right next to the University of Texas. You can walk to the football stadium from the Sheraton -- a bit of a hike, but you aren't going to get to park much closer to the stadium in any event. All in all, this was a pretty good version of what you expect from a Sheraton -- not the best, but far from the worst. If you like Sheratons (which I do) you'll likely like this one too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews