We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to capitol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Ranked #97 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Close to capitol”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Popular place, weddings were taking place while we were there. We were able to walk
to the capitol. We took a guided tour of the capitol and it was excellent.
Parking if available and exspensive so we found parking on the street but
pretty far walking distance.
Coffee in room, which is very nice. We made use of the exercise room which is top of the line.
have eair buds and individual t.v. monitors for each piece of equipment.
Pool and a great hot tub too!

Room Tip: request room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygrace58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    306
    258
    108
    62
See reviews for
114
191
56
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Lobby and exterior impressive. Got a one night stay including breakfast. Room, while looked nice, smelled strongly of mold (mould for those across the pond). Internet speed good and included in package. Breakfast also included but worth what we paid (nothing). Everything unseasoned (gravy and eggs), tea (while fresh brewed, undrinkably strong). Service very good and coffee excellent.

Overall, good price good location, skip breakfast and perhaps room smell was a isolated. With so many other choices in Austin, would not stay again. Parking extra.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here for one night and was disappointed. Location is sub-par at very best if you are visiting Austin for business, shopping or dining. Due to its proximity to UT the hotel is full of young students, friends, and family which did not add upto a pleasant stay for me. Despite managements efforts to have certain groups sign code of conducts upon arrival, I still was subjected to high levels of noise and arrogance throughout the night.

I stayed in a club room on the 15th floor. The carpet, furniture, and fixtures were beginning to show considerable wear which I brought to the attention of management. As an SPG Platinum member I was offered access to the club lounge which offered coffee, tea, assorted juices and soda around the clock. There was an evening service featuring fruit, cheese, and beef skewers with an honor bar. Due to an early morning departure I did not see the breakfast offerings.

The one good thing about this property is the wonderful staff. They were very professional, thanked me for my loyalty to SPG and really tried to rectify my concerns. Unfortunately the hotel was oversold as there was a home game during my stay so their solutions were limited.

Overall, I'd say next time I am in Austin I will stay closer to the main downtown area. The other SPG property, the W or Four Seasons offer a superior location, newer property with better amenities and services.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 737823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed there on a business trip in early Nov. 2011. It is a very good upscale hotel. By upscale, I mean, good, friendly service; very clean and comfortable room; good but expensive food and drink; a quiet HVAC system in the room etc. It was a $27 cab ride from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I thought the hotel was very nice. The location was a bit East..however during the day, it was easy to walk all over Austin. We had a high corner room and the view was very nice. We were unable to open the windows which was a bit disconcerting and stuffy. The engineer took us off the sensor system so the room stayed cool.

The food and service on the club level was only okay.

The Hotel Staff was very nice and helpful. Christy was exceptionally nice.

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRVING
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Cozy room, great staff and in a perfect location not far from Sixth Street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NELLY_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle d'Aosta, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Sheraton in Austin was very enjoyable and clean and the staff was very nice and helpful answering all sort of questions. The only thing that I would have liked to see is a bar closer to the pool! The hotel is in walking distance (or very cheap cab ride) to most downtown attractions and there are a few restaurants in the immediate surroundings that were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrinarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt House Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Austin at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Austin at the Capitol

Property: Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
Address: 701 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2622
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Austin
#63 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Austin at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Austin at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Austin
Austin Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing