We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy beds.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
Ranked #151 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfy beds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This isn't the first time I've booked a La Quinta hotel. The beds are very comfy!! The location was AWFUL! Took about an hour to find the place, once we did we spent about another 20 minutes trying to find the right service road. Wouldn't stay again for that reason alone. Aside from that, there were (about 20) dead/dying grasshoppers near the window. We called the front desk and they said this is normal during the summer. Needless to say it made the rest of the night pretty uncomfortable. They didn't bother me too much except I was afraid to walk around. Nonetheless, it was adequate for one night. Breakfast was okay, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefly_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    69
    44
    42
See reviews for
76
40
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

i was almost afraid to stay at this place, because of some of the reviews i had read. but much to my surprise it was a really nice place. the rooms were clean and fresh-smelling. the beds/pillows were very comfortable. the tv was nice. the bathroom was clean. and the complimentary breakfast was nice. the pool was large and clean. i would definitley recommend this room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great hotel with very friendly staff; valet parking only but the valet's were very friendly and welcoming. Great location toward downtown and UT and the Capitol.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Leon, TX
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our stay was only for one night but it was a decent place to stay at a decent price for Austin. The room we had was on the backside of the hotel but it was clean and comfortable enough. The staff was very friendly at the front desk. It is right off of the interstate though so there is alot of road noise outside and probably on the frontside room (we didn't notice it from our backside room). There are homeless people under the overpasses in the area so probably not the safest area but we didn't have any problems there--we were actually only at the hotel about 8 hours anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is the worst La Quinta I have ever stayed at. The rooms were dirty, and bathroom was disgusting. We would have gone elsewhere if there had been another option. There were gaps around the door, loud drunken shouting in the morning that no one seemed to care about. When we went to breakfast there was nothing out and when we aksed to have more they brought it out in a trash bag (clean I am sure). Then when we complained we got no reponse from Manager. We checked out and they messed up the billing on their end and i got charged multiple times for the room, even though it was meant to be a split payment. After spending all day on the phone and finally annoying customer service enough we got a response. No one offered to comp a room or anything. I am so dissapointed with La Quinta that I will be telling all of my friends and family to never stay at another La Quinta ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#150 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Ramada Austin Central
Ramada Austin Central
#113 of 198 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
The Highlander Austin
#108 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
Address: 5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of downtown Austin, the La Quinta Inn Austin University Area is only minutes from the Austin Convention Center, Texas State Capitol, Travis County Expo Center, and the University of Texas. Visit Bob Bullock State History Museum, 6th Street and the Wareho...see moreuse District, and the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum. No visit to Austin is complete without seeing the famous Congress Avenue Bats and the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo. The La Quinta Inn Austin University Area has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a helpful courteous staff. Spacious guest rooms come with such amenities as a free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, voice mail, HBO, movies on-demand, and video games. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool for your relaxation. Enjoy our Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Located near the Highland Mall, just north of downtown Austin at the southwest corner of I-35 and Highway 290. Stay here for the Republic of Texas Biker Rally, Austin City Limits Music Festival, the Austin Film Festival, and the South by Southwest Media Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing