We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay for a fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
Ranked #158 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our stay was only for one night but it was a decent place to stay at a decent price for Austin. The room we had was on the backside of the hotel but it was clean and comfortable enough. The staff was very friendly at the front desk. It is right off of the interstate though so there is alot of road noise outside and probably on the frontside room (we didn't notice it from our backside room). There are homeless people under the overpasses in the area so probably not the safest area but we didn't have any problems there--we were actually only at the hotel about 8 hours anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 289 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is the worst La Quinta I have ever stayed at. The rooms were dirty, and bathroom was disgusting. We would have gone elsewhere if there had been another option. There were gaps around the door, loud drunken shouting in the morning that no one seemed to care about. When we went to breakfast there was nothing out and when we aksed to have more they brought it out in a trash bag (clean I am sure). Then when we complained we got no reponse from Manager. We checked out and they messed up the billing on their end and i got charged multiple times for the room, even though it was meant to be a split payment. After spending all day on the phone and finally annoying customer service enough we got a response. No one offered to comp a room or anything. I am so dissapointed with La Quinta that I will be telling all of my friends and family to never stay at another La Quinta ever.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

La Quinta Inn has usually been a good place for a night's stay while passing through town, however, this location makes sleeping in your car a better option.

The Lobby had a terrible smell when checking in. The building is old and is more of a motel with outdoor entry. I had requested a non smoking room through their website and when I opened my door, it reaked of smoke. The pillows, the bedspread, everything.

The Bathroom was dirty, the ceiling full a mold, and parts of the bottom of the doors were torn off.

Overall this has to be the worst motel/hotel I have ever stayed in and I will never go back.

Room Tip: Check into one of the Hotels near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was the worst la Quinta we have ever stayed at.hotel is in horrible shape needs major renovating plus was dirty.la Quinta ought to get ridda this one and take their name off it.left next day had it reserved for 2days. Needs painting new plumbing fixtures,front door could see broken into by using pry bars ,furniture badly worn along with carpet pool worn nothing at all good about.next day asking $90.00 for room ain't worth twenty dollars! Hope this goes to management a real disgusting hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank moogamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Came to Austin Saturday night, May 5th for a house party. Very relaxing and quiet. Excellent customer service from everyone. Will return if need be to come back to Austin.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabathacruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank cori94
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This La Quinta was nice but dated. Staff were nice but once again the only problem I have is with the late checkout. I always make the note when reserving and make sure to tell the clerk upon check in but everytime the card is deactivated and I have to go to the front desk to get the situation correct. The only concern I had was that the tub was super high. There were warning signs around the tub. While the hotel was nice the area surrounding the hotel had me a little concerned, but if necessary would book here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiescoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 201 in Austin
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Austin University / Downtown Area
0.4 mi away
The Highlander Austin
The Highlander Austin
#128 of 201 in Austin
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Address: 5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $73 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of downtown Austin, the La Quinta Inn Austin University Area is only minutes from the Austin Convention Center, Texas State Capitol, Travis County Expo Center, and the University of Texas. Visit Bob Bullock State History Museum, 6th Street and the Wareho...see moreuse District, and the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum. No visit to Austin is complete without seeing the famous Congress Avenue Bats and the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo. The La Quinta Inn Austin University Area has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a helpful courteous staff. Spacious guest rooms come with such amenities as a free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, voice mail, HBO, movies on-demand, and video games. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool for your relaxation. Enjoy our Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Located near the Highland Mall, just north of downtown Austin at the southwest corner of I-35 and Highway 290. Stay here for the Republic of Texas Biker Rally, Austin City Limits Music Festival, the Austin Film Festival, and the South by Southwest Media Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing