We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with One Glitch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Ranked #149 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with One Glitch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The majority of our stay was pleasant. The room was clean, the beds were super comfortable and the bedding was of quality material. The staff at the front desk was friendly, professional and helpful. The cleaning staff were thorough and cleaned daily regardless of whether we needed it or not. The food provided at the continental breakfast was also good. The fruit was fresh, the coffee was hot, the juice was cold and the dining area was always clean. The grounds and pool area were also extremely clean. I can't say enough about that. A small problem with the TV only having about 30 channel's and no directory to see what was playing was a minor annoyance.


We did have one major problem during our stay at LaQuinta. That was the access to the internet which was lost at least once sometimes twice a day and kept needing to be reset by some company from Alberta Canada associated with LaQuinta. Every time it happened we had to call the front desk, they had to contact this Alberta company and wait in out room until they called us back to work through the re-connection process. As front-desk personnel changed, we had to re-explain what was happening which was annoying because each time they would all suggest that the wireless router, which was located in another guest room needed to be reset and if the room was occupied, that room would need to be contacted to reset it for them. However, we then we had to explain to the front desk that we'd been through this before and it wasn't the router in the other guest room and that it had to do with the company in Alberta Canada. Luckily the first time it happened, BJ was manning the front desk and was extremely diligent and eager to help us figure out what was wrong and seemed to know exactly what to do by contacting the Alberta company. Kudu's to BJ for his patience with us, he was terrific! Desiree, another front desk manager was also kind enough to award us extra rewards points for our trouble. So the effort was there to please us but the problem never got rectified permanently. Luckily, the first time it happened the technician we worked with (Dina?) gave us a "case number" so that when it happened again, we could give the case number to the next technician with the Alberta company and they could see what was done previously and would know what to do to fix it. This fix was a Band-Aid and I hope they do something to fix it permanently. We are people who use the internet a lot and Wi-Fi was one of the benefits LaQuinta offered that played a major role in our choosing LaQuinta as our lodging destination while we were visiting Austin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    92
    84
    60
    58
See reviews for
132
70
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Clean room, very comfortable beds, excellent front desk service! I especially liked the beddings...very comfortable! Clean bathroom! Air Condition was cool and quiet. Convenient location. We had no problems at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Struggling on this one a bit. i will say of this trip to Austin, the highlight was i was at work a lot. first impressions. the front office was well kept. i checked in quickly. and then walked to my room. i passed the "pool". which resembled something out of a movie, and not a James Bond movie. either it had not been cleaned in some time or it was in dire need of a Shock treatment to get it back to usable by humans. when walking past i could not even see the bottom due to how murky the water was. a few highlights: the bed was comfortable, and the room was cleaned daily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjfullhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Cypress, Texas, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Even though this property has some years on it, you can tell that effort has been made to keep up the exterior and public areas. Where it really shines is the rooms. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was nice and the breakfast was as well. It is almost under the freeway, (and is a bit hard to get to), but you do not hear noise. We would stay there again for certain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

La quinta was great, i read a review before coming that made me worry, but we had great service, a great room over looking the pool, the POOL saved our life in the heatwave, comfy beds, air con, was awesome.

Room Tip: i recommend a room within the complex , overlooking the pool area to avoid road side traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Its just a few minutes from austin airport. Nice and clean rooms and lobby. Shame the pool was under maintence. But as most la quinta hotel is a nice and cheap option. There are a few eating options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katulo_Viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very comfortable beds. Cold air conditioners. Quiet at night. Convenient parking. Awesome water pressure in the showers. Free breakfast. Super friendly staff. Even the coke machines take credit cards for those of you who do not carry cash. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Courtyard Austin South
#101 of 198 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Address: 4200 I-35 South, Austin, TX 78745-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin i-35 s. Ben White Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing