We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Ranked #149 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I had stayed at this hotel last year and found it was decent. It is a motel-style place, with the rooms opening to the outdoors. It is clean, but in serious need of an update as it looks very old and run-down.

HOWEVER, we chose to stay here again a week ago, and this time they lost our reservation and we ended up with a smoking room. Not impressed! We were there for a wedding and we were really worried our expensive formal clothes would be ruined by the smoke smell. As soon as we opened the door we were practically knocked over by the smell of stale smoke and overpowering air freshener. It was Halloween weekend so unfortunately we didn't have a choice but to stay there. The room was clean, but dated (and smelly!). Also, the room was oddly laid out so that the TV was off to the side of the bed at an angle. It was only once we went to sleep that the problems really started. There is NO soundproofing at all in this hotel and when our neighbors arrived back to their room at 3 am and proceeded to have an hours long conversation, we could hear EVERY word! They were still chatting away when I got up at 5:30AM to go for a run. Ugh. We spoke to the front desk later the next morning and they told us they would try to switch us to a non-smoking room for that evening but no promises. That never happened. When we went to sleep on night # 2 were once again woken up by our neighbors - this time to the sound of some x-rated activities!

Pros: close to downtown, inexpensive, relatively clean, free breakfast

Cons: lost room reservation, disgusting smoking rooms, no sound-proofing, horribly run front-desk that offered us no recourse for their mistake, and the worst water pressure I have ever encountered in a hotel shower

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    92
    84
    60
    58
See reviews for
132
70
23
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Easy access to airport, downtown. Miss eggs and bacon for b-fast, but you really can't complain about their Continental. Nice comfy pillows and mattresses. they've put in new, big widescreen HDTVs, nice to wind down with. Visiting Austin -- give this LQ a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The rooms look clean, but since the building is old and not up to date it makes it feel dirty. I think its time to remodel his hotel. The bed was soo uncomfortable, it was old and it had a big dip in the center of it, and does not fit two people. Our room was near the pool,and got woken up by the guy that cleans the pool early in the morning. And there was alot of noise during the night that made it hard to sleep, plus the alarm of our truck went off twice, they did not have security or a night guard. I did not enjoy my stay,the pictures online look,nothing like the actual place. I will not be staying her again. I dont recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gustavo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cheapest (but not that cheap) available room on our way north after a day at Schlitterbahn. Clean room, friendly staff, but limited breakfast options (no waffles...possibly because of iHop next door). Room layout was unique, but plenty of space and everything worked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txtaylor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Courtyard Austin South
#101 of 198 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
Address: 4200 I-35 South, Austin, TX 78745-1202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin i-35 s. Ben White Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing