We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #16 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This hotel was a great place to stay. The location is good, the hotel lobby is very nice, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms have been redone very well. You can see the bats leave the bridge at dusk, you can walk to 4th & 6th streets, and it's right on a lake and walking/running trail. The only drawback was that the hotel charged for internet use. Had I been there on business, that would have been a problem, but since I was on a weekend getaway, it didn't matter much.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank butterf160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,146)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,075 - 2,081 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2006

Having stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, I can honestly say that I have rarely encountered the first class service that I received at the Hyatt Hotel in Austin, Texas.
From the moment I made my reservation, we were treated as if we were celebrities.

The front desk staff, concierges, and cleaning staff always responded with a smile and were helpful. The entire staff of the restaurant were especially memorable. Everyone went beyond the ordinary to make us feel special. One day my friend commented on how she liked the dish in which her fruit was served and the manager came over and told her she could take it if she liked.

Also, we understand that a renovation had recently been completed of the hotel The rooms were beautiful, modern, serene and always clean. Because of its great location near the "bat bridge" you could see the bats flying from our window. It was a perfect location to go to restaurants, etc.

Without a doubt I would recommend the Hyatt Hotel. It was the highlight of our trip to Austin and probably one of the best run hotels I have stayed at in the United States.

4  Thank spiburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My b'friend and I recently stayed at the Hyatt during the NAMM Convention and can't say anything bad about our stay. The lobby, bar area and outdoor patio are inviting and relaxing. The rooms are very modern and clean. From the mattress, to the pillows, to the comforter....the bed is the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in. We slept like babies here. We were on the 16th floor and had a great view of the river and city. Our room was also very quiet. Our stay was very relaxing and the hotel staff was very accommodating. We will definitely stay here again when returning to Austin.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cgocubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

I stayed here a couple nights the week of July 17th for business. The front desk staff are uniformly friendly. This is not always the case with Hyatts.

My room was on the 9th floor with a river view, which is fabulous. The bed was comfy. My colleagues who didn't get a river view did love the beds. The linens are soft and fine. The room decor is modern and masculine.

The bathrooms are not as upscale as the rooms. The water temperature kept changing between cool and warm both days I took showers. Austin was 100 degrees both days I was there, so I took a lot of showers.

The housekeeping staff amazed me. I left myself a note by the bed one day, intending to call for someone to fix the squeaky bathroom door and replace a burned out lightbulb. Housekeeping addressed both issues while I was out!

The hotel's atrium style means noise from the restaurant, bar, and lobby on the first floor carries to the guest rooms. The elevators announced each floor as the doors opened. My room was close to the elevators, so I heard each announcement, even for other floors.

The hotel restaurant has a good view of the river and lots of natural light. It was a pleasure to meet a client there for breakfast. The food was delicious, though a little too salty. Service was good.

The bell staff doubled as Guest Services staff. They helped me a lot with directions and advice on local services. There's a guy named Timo who multitasks quite well.

There are no minifridges in the rooms, which was disappointing.

The location is great if you like to exercise outdoors. A path winds between the hotel and the river. When I was there, it was too hot to walk much.

I'd stay here again if I could get a river view again. That view is soothing and spectacular at all hours. Assuming the water temperature issue improves eventually, it'll be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cades2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington, VA
14
Reviewed July 14, 2006

I stayed at the Hyatt for a business meeting, and the facilities were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to any travelor.

Room:

I stayed on the 10th floor facing the water. They had recently completed rennovations and they did a great job. The beds were as comfortable as I have ever slept on, and the room was very clean. My favorite feature was the 32" (just a guess) plasma!

What I did not like about the room was that it always seemed hot. I keep my house at 71, and had the room set on 63 and was still warm as I slept. Also, the walls seemed very thin. I could hear my neighbor's TV, people walking in the hallway, and it just seemed noiser than other hotels.

Conference Facilties:

The facilities were easy to get to, and well laid out. The temperature was again warm, but it was Austin in the summer. There was a set of rooms on the 1st floor that seemed hidden, but we had a large group and had to use several meeting rooms.

Food Service:

Besides the break services, we had a plated dinner one night. It was good food, better than average, but nothing special. I would, however, highly recommend the pecan pie if you are planning a conference. It was very sweet, but went well with after-dinner coffee.

Other info:

* If you are there during Bat season, you HAVE to take the time to go out to the bridge and watch the hundreds of thousands bats fly out at dusk. It happened around 8:30p when I was there. It was unlike anything I had ever seen.

* There are only a few restaurants w/in walking distance to the hotel. 6th street seems to be where all of the action is, and is only a short cab ride.

* The hotel is about a $20-25 cab ride from the airport

k

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank toasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

4  Thank gigisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $153 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing