We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property despite construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #15 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Be aware there is significant construction all over the hotel's land, though not inside the main hotel proper. That being said, I really enjoyed my stay. Rooms were decently updated and clean, the atrium is really gorgeous, onsite amenities were very good, and staff accommodating. The hotel is nicely located just across the river from the downtown area, 1/2 mile walk from SoCo, and right near Zilker Park - so you can really walk to quite a lot from the hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor or facing towards downtown will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a very nice hotel to stay at for my first trip to Austin. It was centrally located and nothing was too far away. Austin is a fabulous city with so much to do. I was in Austin for work regarding the Austin City Limits Music Festival.

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating and welcoming. The place was jam packed with travelers on business and festival goers. The center bar in the lobby was a wonderful place to unwind after a hard day, and to be able to stroll along the waterfront and watch those crazy bats fly around at dusk.

I loved eating breakfast overlooking the river and the food was very good. Though it ended up being a torrential downpour and ultimately cancelling the Austin City Limits Festival for the last night, it was a great trip. Concert goers were very angry about the festival being cancelled and were demanding their hotel rooms be cancelled and their money be refunded. People were rude to those who worked the front desk and without flinching, and always smiling, those wonderful people told those nasty ones that they could cancel their reservations if the festival was being cancelled. I honestly couldn’t believe how rude people could be (nasty patrons) and also how wonderful (the front desk staff) they could be! I was not one of the people who left early. I figured with all the wonderful food in this city, and I mean WONDERFUL, why not take advantage and stay!

The rooms were nice and clean and had everything I needed to make my stay comfy. I slept like a baby and loved the sheets and pillows. Outside the hotels were rickshaws if you didn’t want to take a cab. Certainly a great way to travel and see the city.

I would stay here again and I think it is affordable and a beautiful place to stay if spending time in Austin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel is situated on the south shore of Lady Bird Lake and has great views of the downtown. Within walking distance of SoCo and downtown. Check in was quick. Bar service is good, there is plenty of seating outside along the water's edge which is really nice. The room was clean, included all the usual amenities such as ironing board, safe, plenty of towels, etc. The room was made up every day. The only issue was the sound, it really carries in this building, specially if there is some sort of event taking place in the lobby.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spent a week at the Hyatt Regency and had time to get to know many members of the team. I found ALL of the staff tried so hard to make my stay a pleasure. What a great team!!!

I ate most of my meals in the restaurant. I did not become tired of this because the menu is varied and the staff so friendly. I got to know the folks working in a variety of areas (Perks, Southwest Bistro, front desk, valet, etc.) and was pleasantly surprised that they recognized me and were so friendly.

I look forward to heading back there for a vacation.

Oh, Austin is an amazing city with so much to see and do. Add this as a must see destination!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We picked this hotel for a last minute weekend getaway in Austin. We were surprised at the overall rates downtown for our quick trip and booked this as it was the most economical.

So it's across the river but overall a great location. A bit tough with the current construction from an arrival experience perspective but really cool that you are right on the river. I really hope they create a staircase from the back of the hotel to the bridge as that would cut the walk into town by 6 mins or so.

Room was a Hyatt room, service was Hyatt service- all pretty straight forward and as expected.

Not going to be your honeymoon hotel but you always have to appreciate when a property delivers what expected.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Hyatt has done a great job with maintaining and positioning this property. They were undergoing some renovations, but it seemed to be business as usual for their staff. The renovation project really didn't impact our stay in the least. The rooms were kind of your standard fair for Regency, but were definitely well kept and clean. We had a view of the river (which I would recommend) and a view of the downtown Austin skyline. The hotel is definitely not in "downtown" and is a bit of a walk for nightlife and the Austin experience. There were generally always cabs & pedi-cabs available very easily. The hotel is quite noisy as it is enclosed with an interior walkway around the inside of the building. This wasn't a major issue until they hosted a very big event, and the echo generated throughout that building was amazing.

If it weren't for the location, I would definitely stay here again. Location considered...I would stay in downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

As a belated Valentine's Day gift to ourselves, the Mr. & I enjoyed a visit to ATX. We chose the Hyatt Regency as our 'home base' for the evening.

Pros: Great location, friendly and knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed with nice bedding, and a river view.

Cons: The room could have used some updates. The tub area was dated and the carpet was a little 'tired'.

The pros definitely outweigh the cons and we'd stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 201 in Austin
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $113 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing