We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #13 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to downtown attractions and right on the running trail. The service was great and the staff very accommodating. We did have a problem finding a parking space one day, but that will be resolved with the new parking garage.

Room Tip: would definitely pay the extra amount to get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,753 - 1,759 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend in early August. As a Hyatt Diamond member, I was upgraded to a one bedroom suite upon check-in which was a pleasant surprise. The suite was quite large, but the decor seemed just a bit dated and tired to me. The hotel is in a great location...right on the Lake, adjacent to the Congress St. bridge and just south of downtown Austin. We had breakfast on both days in the restaurant and were happy with our meals. We also had drinks in the bar on the first night. The service in the bar was prompt, although I think the drinks were way over priced. Now for the things needing improvement (in my opinion anyway). The pool is a bit small and lacking when compared to the rest of the property. If you want to walk to South Congress you have to walk in the middle of the road as there isn't a really good, direct way to get off the property. You think this would be a fairly easy fix especially with the safety concerns. With that said, my biggest complaint was the parking, or the lack of parking. It seems that patrons to other bars and restaurants opt to use the self parking on weekends as well which left us with valet parking as our only option on Saturday night after a long drive back from Fredricksburg. The hotel seemed to be very full during our stay and you'd think the hotel would consider limiting parking to hotel guests only, but that didn't appear to be the case. I would assume that this will improve with the extension under construction that seems to include parking, but we'll see. Fortunately for us the construction noise wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel adjacent to the construction currently underway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCub_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I will make this one simple - despite some construction being done near the hotel, the stay was wonderful. Fast check in and check out, great location next to the river, nice room.

And this rarely happens, but I ate at the restaurant twice. Their menu was actually pretty good for a hotel restaurant, with tons of healthy options.

I recommend this hotel for work travel for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked a reservation at the Hyatt Regency and was required to pre-pay for the full amount. I later cancelled the reservation within the allowed time (45 days before stay) and should have been issued a full refund. Three weeks after the cancellation, I still had not received my refund. After multiple attempts to recovery my deposit by contacting the hotel directly and Hyatt's customer service, I had to file a dispute directly with my bank. I am an new Hyatt Gold Passport Member and I couldn't be less enthused about the customer service and handling of my reservation/cancellation. They were certainly eager to accept my money and less than fair when returning it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank TWardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Please accept our sincere apology about the wait on your refund. After your cancellation on 7/24 we had a glitch in our system where a batch of our credit card transactions were not processed in a timely manner. It took working with credit card merchant services to resolve this issue that significantly delayed your refund which was ultimately refunded on 8/8. Please let us know if you have any other inquiries, we appreciate your patience during that time. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had some of the greatest customer service that I've ever experienced at the Hyatt Regency Austin. Their staff is stellar, they make every guest feel as if they're a VIP. I really liked the weather forecast included in their wake up calls. The bar in the lobby is par for the course on expensive hotel bars, but there's not much selection on their side of the lake. Walk across the famous Bat Bridge and you're inundated with Austin's finest choices to suit anyone's taste. My chief complaint about the hotel is the way sound carries up through the open column architecture of the place - the rooms are on the edge and there middle of the hotel is a big open space. The noise level is pretty high, but the hotel tried to keep it under control and is no fault of the staff. Overall, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the few hallways...the noise isn't as bad there. Also if you want a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for few night in November 2012 as part of business trip to Austin. Have stayed here many times before and same usual high standards maintained.

For the price paid this hotel is reasonable value for down-town Austin but not cheap.

Excellent location on town lake at Barton Springs Road, perfectly central for down-town but good access to main roads etc. and close to various chain bars and restaurants.

Rooms good size and very well appointed. Excellent breakfast looking over the river with great views of down-town. Outdoor pool and gym available. In house Starbucks coffee shop.

Very good level of service received during my stay. Plenty of car parking onsite.

If you can afford the prices then you will enjoy a fairly luxurious stay at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

6/2013 - The location of the hotel is great - it is right off the river and offers lake activities just steps from the hotel. It is also walking distance to multiple different sections of downtown Austin. The rooms are comfortable - spacious, updated and very clean. The pool is nice offering 50/50 seats in the shade/sun. The pool area is somewhat small when there are alot of people specifically mid - late afternoon. My only downfall of the hotel was the parking - if you come back to the hotel (after 8:30/9pm) the self - parking might be full and you will have to valet and get charged valet prices.

For more information on my trip to Austin see: http://goshrooney.blogspot.com/2013/08/austin-texas.html

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 202 in Austin
2,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 202 in Austin
1,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $112 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing