We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #16 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As a first time visitor to Austin on a business conference, I couldn't ask for a better location. The hotel is centrally located right on Lady Bird Lake. Many attractions are within a mile walking distance to the hotel. You can step right out the back entrance, hop a boat for $10 and cruise down Lady Bird Lake and check out the bats at dusk.

The only issue I experience at Hyatt was during the checkout process. I was billed $20 for phone call I didn't make. Fortunately, the charge was taken off my bill without a major problem. If you stay at this location, make sure you review your bill carefully for accuracy.

I would recommend this location especially for a first time visitor who doesn't have a rental car and wants to be within walking distance of major attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misschrisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,662 - 1,668 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here on business travel 6/2-5. This hotel is fantastic. Service is exquisite from the valet attendants, front office staff, housekeepers, room service...everyone I came across was friendly and polite. The beds here are extremely comfortable, the bathroom is clean, the view of the river is wonderful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Austin. It is across the river but an easy walk to downtown (10mins). They have great little extra touches like ear plugs next to your bed (although I didn't need them it was so quiet).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river. 11th floor was spectacular.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, Nicole! We are so happy to hear about our service being top notch and hope to see you soon on your next visit to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really love he location of this hotel. It's by the river so you can go kayaking, ride a boat, or jogging around it. It is also the location where the bats are. It is close to South congress ave so you are minutes away from the many restaurants. They used to have food trucks parked there but we passed by it this weekend, and they are all gone.
The rooms are clean too which I always look for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boots67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a one night stay for a conference. The conference room at the 17th floor has AWESOME views! The buffets and food options are amazing. My room was very clean with all necessary amenities. Little disappointed to not have free wifi. Overall pleasant atmosphere and calm scenery just outside the facility. Construction is ongoing right outside the hotel so I suppose pedestrian access will improve afterwards. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently spent a week at this hotel for a conference and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are very nice. Even though this is an atrium style hotel, once in your room everything is very quiet. If you can get a room with a view, that is a must. Housekeeping was wonderful, bell staff, banquet staff, admin staff....everyone was so willing to do whatever was needed to make our group comfortable. The food at this hotel is not your average hotel food. It's fresh, healthy and some of the best I've ever experienced during a conference. Just steps from the walking path where we would walk daily for exercise and we rode the water bikes. A great location to walk to either downtown or South Congress. Also be sure and take the walking path to the Paggi House for great small plates and wine. Can't wait to go back but for pleasure next time!

Room Tip: Room with a view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Austin and enjoyed this hotel. Nice pool. Canoe rentals just off the property.My husband and granddaughter rented one and went out to see the bats fly out at dusk from under a bridge (sounds thrilling doesn't it?). This is supposed to be something that tourist go to Austin to see.There is lots of construction going on in the area but it did not cause any problems or noise that we noticed.You do pay to park (I think it was $20 per day). Really friendly staff. The ground floor lobby opens like a courtyard to a second floor resturant (sorry, we didn't have the chance to try out the food) then all the way up is open so that as you step out your door you can see all doors to other rooms and who is in the bar and eating below. The location was great for getting around downtown.No frig in the room but a nice view of the river. Overall clean and a fair price-we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked a room for a small get-away for the weekend and I had a great experience there. The staff was extremely friendly and the service was the best I have had so far. People complained about the construction taking place around the area but I did not affect my stay (no construction noise was made and there was no detours). People also complained about the parking, but valet service was given at a self parking rate if the parking was full. The pool had a good view of the lake and there were many activities taking place around the area. The only bad experience I had at the hotel were the people staying there (they had a tendency to make inappropriate comments because we were a younger group although we weren't noisy). Overall, it was a quiet and accommodating stay and I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting the riverside view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $154 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing