We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location, location, location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #22 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose the hotel because of proximity to Long Center which is an easy 5 minute walk. It is also close to South Congress and downtown. Our room was clean, however the AC did not cool correctly. The restaurants menu is very limited but the draw seems to be the bar. It's not the Austin glitterati crowd-seems to be business and conference goers. But even tho it is very dated, the support staff seems to be friendly and capable. And it is quiet, which sometimes is hard to find in Austin-especially in this area. Keep in mind, we were here on a Wednesday nite.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophieandmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    543
    189
    65
    34
See reviews for
242
323
64
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and courteous. The food was wonderful. Everything was top quality. The view of Austin and Town Lake was beautiful. The location for downtown Austin and sight seeing is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paristx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a great find. Unbeatable location with views directly onto Lady Bird Johnson lake and the Austin skyline from the bed. Large comfortable room and exemplary service. The housekeeping was a bit sloppy- bathroom wasnt cleaned properly and some of the breakfast crockery was not exactly spotless but the hotel staff dealt with this very promptly and therefore the hotel merits the five stars. The hotel is ideally located between south congress and downtown with the added bonus of being able to watch the sunset bat flight directly from the bedroom window. Decent breakfast too. Viewwise, this place has the edge over the four seasons or the marriott across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitukidogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
127 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel, nice lobby. There was a lot of construction at the time, and the walk to South Congress is ~20 mins. Right on the river with a great running/walking path. Would recommend!! We didn't eat at the hotel because we were there for a wedding, but the service otherwise was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianQJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Very clean rooms, and very quiet. I was on teh 7th floor and while there was construction outside I was not able to hear it. The breakfast buffet was also very good. All the employees at the hotel were super helpful and respectful. I have been to Austin many times and this is the first time I stayed at the Hyatt regency, I will definately be stain here for my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choptopmerk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The good
Location, breakfast service, starbucks in the hotel.
The bad
There is a huge construction site at the hotel. It is very noisy.
I asked for a very quiet room to be able to sleep after a 30 hours journey and a 13 hours time difference. I got rm 533 just near the elevators. I heard all conversations from those taking the elevators as well as the disturbing elevator ring.
All rooms are reachable through a gigantic inner atrium. The bar and ball room are on the ground floor of the atrium. It was full of very very noisy people and the sound was travelling all up to the rooms. To make it worse. We had lots of drunk people on my floor shouting at the elevator.
The room is dark and smelly. The aircon is very load. The standard of the room is very low, this cant be Hyatt standard.
I will try to avoid the hotel next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you chose our hotel for your stay and we are terribly sorry for the problems you encountered. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and assure you the situation has been addressed. If your travels bring you back into Austin we'd love another chance to show you our true Hyatt standards when it comes to our rooms and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel while working and looking at real estate. I thought the hotel had a warm and inviting atmosphere with a decent level of activity most evenings. I was given a room on a high floor facing the city with stunning views of the lake as well. It was very clean with a nice scent. There was some elevator noise near the bathroom but wasn't an issue deeper inside the room. A buffet breakfast was included with my room which I found to be decent and efficient. The pool alongside the lake with a view of downtown Austin was a nice bonus...although no poolside service was a bummer. The gym was surprisingly nice for a hotel of this type, plus you have direct access to the footpath along Town Lake for decent jog. The food was not so great, but this is Austin and you should be eating most of your meals in the fantastic restaurants

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a high floor facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#24 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing