We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get-Away Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #17 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Perfect Get-Away Spot”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Austin for a quick get-away. Hotel is located across the lake from Hot Spots, but perfect because it wasn't noisey. Hotel has just undergone a renovation and looks great. We took a cab (inexpensive) to 4th Street for dining and entertainment. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake View! Higher up if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    659
    224
    75
    38
See reviews for
351
417
80
908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed over the Christmas Holidays during the construction. Fortunately the construction noise was only bothersome one day. i used the family plan to obtain connecting rooms for the kids.
The cable TV reception was very poor, almost unwatchable in both rooms, due to interference and static. This is not good when you are traveling with children.
The Internet service was good, and allowed you to connect with multiple devices, and was a nice perk. The rooms are tired and need updating and were very dark.
The parking was outdoor only but was free, presumably due to the construction project.
As a "Platinum" member I received complementary breakfast since this hotel does not have a Regency club. The breakfast was a buffet style and I am glad it was complementary as the price they charge for it is very steep for what you receive. What little interaction I experienced with the staff was ok.
On my next trip to Austin I will try the Hyatt Place Austin/Arboretum and see how it compares to this Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and internet perk and are sincerely sorry for your television issues. We hope next time you alert us in order to fix the problem or get you into new room. Your happiness is our first priority and we'd love to make that up to you if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

staff is super accommodating and friendly. we came here with our puppy (which they allow, for a steep $50/night extra). they gave him a huge dog bed and bowls - very thoughtful. rooms are nicely decorated but a tad worn. bathrooms had granite counters but are very small - and ours had no vent. it's an atrium type hotel, so during the early evening you can hear the music from downstairs. nice views of the river. great breakfast downstairs. love how it's directly on the trails and walking distance to congress ave and all the restaurants and sights. great location for people with dogs!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are fine, and the location is excellent. If you want to run or walk around Town Lake by stepping outside your hotel, this is the place for you. The bathrooms could use some updating. The breakfast buffet ($17.50 per person) was delicious.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AggieGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

the following was the letter I wrote to the GM of the hotel after our stay a few months ago.

I wanted to let you know what a phenomenal job Chris Rosales(Reservations Mgr.) did in handling our family reunion at your hotel. He went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. It was perfect from the sparkling clean rooms to the phenomenal meals our stay could not have been any better.
All too often you only hear when people have a complaint with their stay and I think it is important to let you know when your staff has done an incredible job.
I am in the service industry and have very high standards.
My family’s stay at your hotel exceeded my standards!

Congratulations on operating a great property!

Room Tip: All the Hypoallergenic rooms have views of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
What a pleasure to receive such a nice review. It's instances like this that keep our staff happy and encouraged to continue their best work for our guests. We are very excited to hear your reunion was a success and that we exceeded your standards. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency Austin for a long weekend. The hotel's slogan on the room key sums up our stay--"Great View, Better Service". On arrival we were upgraded to a suite that was modern, clean and spacious. The suite had a kitchen, dining table, laptop, printer and 2 bathrooms and we found all these perqs useful and convenient. The hotel also had a nice gym and swimming pool that we unfortunately weren't able to use. The hotel is close to everything--nightlife, restaurants and river/lake activities.

The hotel wasn't the nicest Hyatt property we ever stayed at and is in fact what we would have expected from a Hyatt Regency, but the service is why we gave it such a high rating. For starters, they immediately recognized our Diamond status and treated us like VIPs. Everyone was friendly and helpful. My partner had the flu during our stay and the staff bent over backwards to see that we were comfortable and our needs attended to. For example, the hotel allowed us to have our Diamond breakfast delivered to our room each morning so that we could rest and be as comfortable as possible.

Overall a great stay and we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Hyatt is across the river from the convention center and downtown. A very nice walk when it's sunny, not fun when it's cold and rainy. There are always cabs at the front if you need them. The room was what you'd expect, but the noise from the atrium/bar can float up. They are understaffed at the restaurant, so the food is slow. The bar is a better choice for a bite. They have the usual outrageously expensive buffet breakfast, but at least they have a pricey coffee shop option (20% more than Starbucks for the same quality). But the above are mostly minor - unless I could get a room within 2 blocks of the convention center, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
1,307 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Property: Hyatt Regency Austin
Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of Downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing