We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Austin
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Austin Airport(Austin)(Great Value!)
$114
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$122
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$165
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$119
$113
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$178
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,437)
Filter reviews
2,437 results
Traveler rating
1,303
754
253
83
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,303
754
253
83
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe congresslady bird lakea river view roomtown lakestreet bridgebarton springsself parkingbreakfast buffetbusiness conferenceper dayclose to downtownlobby barhotel is in a great locationhotel restaurantsixth streetlive musicconvention center
Filter
Updating list...
2,049 - 2,054 of 2,437 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ten Things You Should Know Before You Book:

1. No common area wi-fi. Whomever thought that was a good idea should be fired.
2. Rooms are typical renovated Hyatt. Nothing spectacular.
3. Not enough outlets in the room (but there never are at most older hotels).
4. Food is good and not horribly overpriced.
5. On the shores of Lady Bird Lake so jogging trails, kayaks, Congress Street Bat Bridge are all nearby.
6. Nice fitness center.
7. Well trained staff.
8. Comfortable furniture and bedding.
9. Very clean
10. There are better, less expensive choices available in Austin.

Room Tip: They won't guarantee you a 'view' of the bats departing from the bridge but ask for a room that overlooks Lady Bird Lake. Those are the best ones!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelMommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoy our in-house as well as outside amenities for the hotel! We apologize about the WiFi charges but can assure you that they are in line with our competitors around town. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, good access to downtown, rather easy to find, but seriously in 2012 you are still charging for Wi-Fi? Even when booked as a business "conference hotel"? Even in the lobby and conference areas? I find this absolutely outrageous!

There is an hourly rate and a daily rate for internet use. The hourly rate is an hour on the clock - not cumulative for the time you actually use.

Their "reason" is that other hotels in Austin charge for Wi-Fi. Well wake up and realize that Austin is supposed to be leading edge - not business adverse. The Hyatt Austin is otherwise a very nice hotel with stylish, updated rooms, nice customer service, and even the conference food was good.

Hyatt e-mailed a survey after the stay and I voiced my disapproval for the internet charge. They responded promptly and said the would credit back the internet charge to my credit card (which hasn't shown up yet on my card). That woudl be very nice, but did not make up for the aggrivation to begin with.

Room Tip: I was fortunate enough to have an upper level, corner room with a nice view of the lake/bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeclaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello and thank you for your review, your comments are very important to us. Please accept our sincere apology that we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your anniversary stay. We can assure you that we do a quarterly competitive analysis and that our pricing structure is in line with other downtown full service hotels. Please contact us if you did not receive your credit back. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is ordinary compared to what I normally woud reserve in Austin. It does have a great location, however, there was nothing memorable about it. I normally stay @ the San Jose or the Kinder Modern (great!)- Unfortunately they were totally booked.
My most memorable thought concerning my stay was:
1) TV remote did not work & they never brought me another after requesting it
2) NO shampoo or conditioner (they did finally bring me some)
3) A $3 bottle of water on the bath vanity.....come on, cheapskates...get real! For $300/night, I have to pay for a cheap brand of H2O.......forget it
Won't be back

Room Tip: book @ The San Jose or the Kinder
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We apologize that we did not meet expectations and we are actively working with our housekeeping and engineering departments to ensure everything is stocked and properly functioning. We appreciate your comments and we hope you'll give us another try soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location if you want to be close to downtown with easy access to I-35E. It is also right on town lake so you can go kayaking/jogging/etc. right from the hotel! In addition to having a solid location they also have a pretty solid gym and restaurants. I've stayed here 2 times before and even though it's not the Four Seasons / Ritz, it's a great deal for the price! Speaking of price...read my tips below on how I book there all the time for only $100 a night!

I have always been able to get the rooms for about $100 a night by using Priceline! Just select downtown hotels in Austin and 4 Star or better, then BID $100 a night! Boom! If you don't get it try again at $120 a night. I've never not won at $100 a night but I hear around graduation and when there are home town football games it can get more crowded in Austin. Hope the review helps!

Room Tip: I have always been able to get the rooms for about $100 a night by using Priceline! Just select downtown hotels in Austin and 4 Star or better, then BID $100 a night! Boom! If you don't get it try again at $120 a night. I've never not won at $100 a night but I hear around graduation and when there are home town football games it can get more crowded in Austin. Hope the review helps!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benpatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As frequent leisure travelers we've stayed in many four star properties. When we first rolled into the porte cochere we were underwhelmed to the point of concern. Once we stepped inside our disappointment turned into excitement. With the exception of the pool this hotel meets all the criteria for a four star property. The staff is well trained and friendly and the rooms are everything you would expect including high quality bedding. The rooms facing north have unbelieveable views of Lady Bird lake, Congress Street bridge and skyline of downtown Austin . The fitness center is large, well equipped and has high end equipment. To walk out the back door and be able to walk or run around the lake is an experience rarely found in a hotel stay. The independenly owned and operated water activities right out the back door give this hotel more of a resort feel than you normally find. We had a fantastic 26th wedding anniversary here and hope to return soon. Maybe by then they will have given the pool area the makeover it desperately needs.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank callmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattSupport, Social Media Mgr at Hyatt Regency Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for you're lovely review! We're glad to hear you took advantage of the 24/hr gym and amazing trail on Lady Bird Lake. We hope to see you two back here for your 27th anniversary, congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews