We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Austin
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$133
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$263
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Driskill(Austin)
$241
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,396)
Filter reviews
2,396 results
Traveler rating
1,278
742
250
83
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
742
250
83
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady bird lakea river view roomtown lakethe congressstreet bridgebarton springsnice hotelself parkingbusiness conferencebreakfast buffetper daylobby barclose to downtownhotel restaurantsixth streetlive musicconvention center
Filter
Updating list...
2,076 - 2,081 of 2,396 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here Spring Break week for SXSW and it was great. Very nice reception and all needs were met. In addition, I got great follow up from the management regarding my stay. A little pricey but worth it. Easy walk to Arboretum Shores, the Convention Center area as well as 6th St. and Warehouse Dist. so you never have to drive anywhere. Good food on site and a couple of well known local restaurants right across the street. Also, right on Town Lake with water activities right outside the door. Great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for low floor. Dont like the atrium thing
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIM9955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay during South by Southwest, however, it was mostly due to excellent staff who were helpful and gave great advice when we had questions.

Our main concerns was that the room seemed a bit small -- in fact, they would not bring a rollaway (but charged for an extra person) because they said it would be a fire hazard with the room size. The other problem we encountered was some kind of construction going on in the room either upstairs or adjacent to us. Not sure what that was about but it happened each morning at around 10am.

The hotel lobby is very nice and the rooms were clean and well-kept. The location was perfect because it was close enough to downtown (walking), but just over the river where it was very quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travaille2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here in February for one Thursday night and enjoyed our stay. We used passport points to book our stay and were pleased with the room allocated to us. Some hotels don't get it--they put the guests using points in the less desirable rooms so the paying guests can have the better rooms, not understanding that the guests using points are the ones to be rewarded as frequent customers. Hyatt gets it right. Our room was on a higher floor with large windows overlooking Town Lake and the city skyline. Very clean, as expected, and nicely decorated.

The hotel was very busy when we arrived with what appeared to be a convention-type group as well as people staying for the Austin Marathon that weeked. Check-in was quick and the clerk was friendly.

One nice thing about the Hyatt is that it is within walking distance of several different kinds of restaurants, including Threadgill's, a sports-type place called Aussies with a well-used sand volleyball court, and Zax which has a nice secluded patio for nice evenings. Also, if you leave the hotel property and walk about half a block, you are at the Congress Avenue bridge, if you are there in season and want to see the bats fly out at dusk.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once several years, and then for the March 2012 South by Southwest festival. What sets this hotel apart is the super helpful, super friendly staff. Have you ever been in a hotel lobby where a maid sees you sitting on the floor to be next to an electrical outlet, and insists on bringing you a chair? This hotel has a nice location, sitting on Lady Bird Lake. You can walk to the Convention Center area and you can also walk to the South Congress St. area. If you want fancy, you can go to the Four Seasons a short distance away. But for what this place costs, I think it's an excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We received a call on Thursday we would not be able to stay at the hotel my husband reserved MONTHS in advance. The reason? We were only staying for two nights and they had other guests, who had longer stays booked, they needed to accommodate. Attempts to resolve the situation were useless. They offered passport points (we aren't members and won't be after this certainly) 2 taxi vouchers and a wristband. WOOT! Here's the thing, I wasn't even going on this trip until Tuesday, my husband had booked months in advance. I'm now out a plane ticket and staying in another Hyatt sure-to-be awesome property seven miles away from everything. The only reason I opted to go on this trip was the hotel's location. The customer affairs representative I spoke to initially was rude. His supervisor was better but still only said "sorry". I'm sure someone from Hyatt will jump on with all sorts of great reasons why they're in the right. Funny thing, the supervisor said this happened at the same property, same time last year. WHY didn't Hyatt learn from that and oversell slightly less than last year to avoid doing this to guests again? Thanks, Hyatt, for the awesome customer experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews