We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms and conference facilities, but noise and elevator wait unacceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Austin
Ranked #15 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed here for a conference during the week commencing November 14. In terms of the general level of facilities, this is a high end, full-feature chain hotel, offering everything you'd expect from such a venue for a price to match. The beds were comfortable, and the room offered the full set of amenities: an en suite bathroom, large TV, a very comfy bed, air conditioning (that actually works), coffee maker, a valuables safe (that is big enough to hold a laptop), and an iron and ironing board. There again, at nearly $200 a night, so it should do! And, as is also to be expected from this sort of establishment, Internet access will set you back a further ten bucks a day.

The conference meeting rooms were well furnished and equipped, and the technical staff and catering efficient. The bar and restaurant serve nice food and drink in a nice atmosphere, but the portions are stingy and the food the food and beverage are overpriced to the point of taking the mick - $20 for two slivers of steak on a panini, or $35 for a Manhattan, for example. Being on the south side of the lake you've got a bit more of a walk to the downtown eateries than a hotel on the other side of the bridge would be, but they're still within manageable walking distance.

The problem is in the physical design of the building. The rooms are all on balconies off a large, open plan atrium. This carries and amplifies noise to such an extent that even from my room on the fourteenth floor, the ambient noise from the bar and restaurant below was so loud as to prevent me from getting work done. Be prepared for long waits for elevators. What astonished me was that some genius had the idea of putting the largest conference meeting rooms on the top floor. The result is that you've got hundreds of people trying to get up and down the building in four elevators, all at the same time, hence lengthy wait. Not only that, but this arrangement doesn't strike me as clever from a fire safety standpoint, either. Did whoever designed this building never see 'The Towering Inferno'?!

All in all, this place is pretty much average for the price point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on as low a floor as possible, so that you have the option of using the stairs and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedbugged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,953 - 1,959 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

The world has changed. There are now so many hotels with personalities, that you expect it - but in days before the whole idea was to have everything just the same. This Hyatt meets that old criteria. There is nothing wrong with it, just nothing to distinguish it from any other hotel like this anywhere else - it is bland. That applies pretty much across the board - the food is uninspired, same with decor and the room. Very nice, pleasant, but boring. The service is good but again not very inspired. Fine for a business hotel, but why be bland?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T00ManyAirMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed here solo, for a business conference. The room was clean and large, the view of Austin from the north side rooms is magnificent. Had room service one night, it was pricey but hot and fresh. RIght next to the bat bridge and a jogging trail along Lady Bird Lake. A short walk to 6th street. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: The Austin views on the north side are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k1ckstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 18, 2011

We sincerely thank you for your review and are extremely pleased to hear of your positive experience as our guest. Austin is such a great city and we believe that we have an ideal location to showcase some of the greatest attributes of the city. As you stated, our view of the lake is magnificent and we are located in the ideal spot to take advantage of the Lade Bird Lake trail. We thank you for being our guest and look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel was very nice with rooms on interior balconies looking down to the 1st floor. In room was very comfortable and spacious. Seating and desk areas roomy. Lighting and closet space great. In-room safe. Nice bath. In-room coffee and tea.
Restaurant great - food great- lounge area spacious and inviting. Outside terrace too overlooking Lady Bird Lake, the Bat Bridge, the jogging trail and beautiful view of downtown Austin.
The staff really made my stay special. Everyone was friendly and really outstanding. My stay was very plesant. Nice pool, spa and exercise room. Would definitly stay there again and recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Central_NY_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here for a night during a business trip. The hotel staff was helpful, the environment comfortable and overall a pleasurable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGW416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good hotel. Very convenient. Walk to the bar/music scene on 06th but far enough away to avoid the noise and chaos. 2 mins walk to the bat bridge. 06th Ave 10-15 mins walk. Several decent restaurants nearby including the excellent Manuels for mexican. 20 mins from airport.

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing the water or the main strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadarocks463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Reading the TripAdvisor reviews, I had the feeling I was in for a bit a let down at the Hyatt. This hotel is in a great location, central to most of Austin, far enough away the messy drunkenness of 6th St so that you don't feel like you're staying on skid row, but close enough that you can enjoy that revelry yourself. Very helpful staff. The views of the lake from the north side of the building are extraordinary, especially in the early morning & at sunset. It's worth specifically asking for. The bar & restaurant offerings are antiseptic and boring in way most hotel chains are, but there are good options just around the corner. The rooms are spacious, very modern and comfortable. Self parking is an added charge $14/night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,804 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 201 in Austin
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Austin

Address: 208 Barton Springs Rd, Austin, TX 78704-1211
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#15 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Business Hotel in Austin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#38 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $113 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Austin on the shores of Lady Bird Lake, the Hyatt Regency Austin is a full service hotel which offers cool, contemporary new guest rooms. Situated along the Hike & Bike trail, the hotel is within walking distance to all of downtown Austin's major entertainment districts, and 7 miles from Austin Bergstrom International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing