We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #181 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Good value, rooms could be updated, but were clean. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable of the area, and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smsbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 393 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

We visited our son and wife wich did not have sufficient room to house us properly. So we used the hotel as our "basecamp" for two weeks. I can't say anything but that we are very satisfied. The staff was absolutely friendly and helpfull and the check-in was a piece of cake even though we had booked more than half a year ago.
The beds were fine (I really wouldn't know how people can say something bad about the beds?), we slept like roses. The breakfast was simple but more than sufficient (what do some criticasters actually want for breakfast?). The room was kept clean and we (too) often got clean towels.
One can see that the hotel is used a lot and it started to look a little bit worn out in some aspects, that's true. The breakfast room is small and is not abundantly furnished and decorated, but heck, for what reason should they? Not for the money you pay.
We have not been bothered by other guests or whatever. So since we've stayed there for two weeks last year there's no reason why we shouldn't stay there for another three weeks next summer hoping for the same good treat of the charming front desk manager and her staff.
For the money it's a good hotel but stay away from the room next to the elevator. As users of the elevator we reckon that to be the worst room of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansN46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Rooms are inexpensive, but that's because it's not well taken care of. We had a queen room with a two person tub. Handle on tub fell off (although it still worked). Sink outside bathroom, faucet wasn't even attached!! Although it still worked too. Stains on carpet.

ALSO - there is a $25 non-refundable charge for pets!! It doesn't say that anywhere on the website, but - FYI - they charge it. Continental breakfast wasn't very continental

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadBiker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

On the positive side, the hotel is in a good location for exploring Austin and surrounding attractions. Also the staff very kindly allowed us to check in early. The room appeared to be clean but there was a large black stain on the carpet and the wallpaper in the bathroom was hanging off. There was no plug for the bath and despite repeated requests to reception, we never got one. In the morning we found ants crawling all over but made no complaint as we were departing that day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Very pleasant stay and excellent service. The desk clerk Shay was particularly helpful, professional and courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmlmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review of the Howard Johnson Austin hotel.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and that our staff exceeded your expectations. I appreciate the mention of Shay at the front desk, as we very much appreciate her hard work and she truly is an asset to the hotel.
Look forward to your next stay with us again the next time you visit the Austin area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

On our way back to PA. so we wanted to thank the management and staff for
the way you made our family feel while at your hotel.
The kids loved the mini muffins and assorted mini danish and our housekeeping
girl maria was so sweet!
The desk staff always greeted us with a smile and was very helpful.
This was our second trip to Austin and the service and attitude is twice
what it was last june.we met the new property mgr and his people skills
are superior! I am in the airline business and you can not teach people
these kind of skills
Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina53518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Tina,
Thank you so much for your nice review of the Howard Johnson Austin.
I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the hotel was well suited to your travel needs. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our wonderful staff
and Dominic has already shared your review with the staff. On behalf of the hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are back in the Austin area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our vacation at the Howard Johnson was perfect, the staff was very well trained
and we will be back, housekeepers were very considerate and helpful.
Only issues were the traffic conditions,

The manager greeted us in the breakfast area and really cared for our satisfaction
and future stays

We will be back, this was our fourth visit to Austin

Thanks for all your efforts!

Sara and Ben

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2010

Sara and Ben,
Thank you for your pleasant review of the Howard Johnson Austin.
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate the recognition of our housekeeping staff, as sometimes their hard work goes unnoticed.
I am so glad that Dominic and his staff were able to exceed your expectations.
Dominic takes great pride in providing excellent service to our guests and that also shows in his staff.
I will share your review with the staff at the hotel.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 202 in Austin
8 reviews
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
#160 of 202 in Austin
175 reviews
Econo Lodge North Austin
#149 of 202 in Austin
324 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#137 of 202 in Austin
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2711 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $55 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin, Tx Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing