We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #181 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed January 24, 2010

I've stayed here a few times just to get away for the night. Everybody is real nice, the rooms are decent for the price. Good location too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Austin, Texas. We are so glad that you have enjoyed staying with us and we consider several return visits to be a huge compliment! It sounds as if you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and amenities. We appreciate the kind words about the great service provided by our staff.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 393 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2009

For over 20 years my wife and I have stayed at this location during Longhorn home football games. This alone tells our staisfaction. The staff has changed over the years, not the top quality service and willingness to accommodate any last minute changes. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. The rooms and service rate "5 star" for our needs. In the "early days" it was Excel Inn. The name has changed, but not the quality, The new manager, Dominic Monteleone is committed to seeing that guests are treaty like familiy, not just guests.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxmmHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

Thank you for patronage for 20 years, that is wonderful! We appreciate your kind words regarding the Howard Johnson Austin.
Very glad to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our amenities and services over the years.
Dominic and his entire staff look forward to welcoming back in the fall or anytime you are in the area. Thanks again for the glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

First I have never written a review, but I felt compelled. The hotel is VERY dated and in horrible condition. The wall are in bad shape and the tiny bathroom shower area was missing floor tiles. The remaining ones were not much better. The worst part of the stay was the awful smoke smell throughout the hallway, but very pronounced in our room. We were in a non smoking room and it made my clothes smell just awful, We picked this hotel because it was only one night and we were arriving in Austin very late. However even for a short stay it was disgusting. One positive note was the front desk staff was very pleasant but cannot make up for the conditions we experienced. Stay away!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank SigPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

We are truly disappointed to hear about your stay at the Howard Johnson Austin. We appreciate your candid feedback and although we do not want to hear that a stay was less than perfect, we do appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our service. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay.
We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Ok, so we stayed only one night, for a family funeral. The peep hole on the door was just that, it was a hole where you can see out and IN. You could'nt close the bathroom door, the ironing board cover was dirty with who knows what, but they did come to change it. When we found out about the peep whole they moved us to another room which the lady said was the quiet side of the motel, we were in our room for about 10 minutes when a dog started barking in the next room. The only good thing about the motel? The front desk people were very nice, but we wont stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe1Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2010

We are disappointed to hear about this guest's experience at the Howard Johnson Austin.
We have new management in place and Dominic and his staff hope that you will reconsider staying with us and they will ensure that you have a most memorable stay during your visit to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alainaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Armando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 201 in Austin
8 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#160 of 201 in Austin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Econo Lodge North Austin
#149 of 201 in Austin
324 reviews
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#151 of 201 in Austin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2711 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78741-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin, Tx Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing