We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel... Decent location”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #180 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel wasn't the nicest, but for the price its not bad. The bed and room were nice enough. I did not like the bathroom however. It felt very run down. The top floor is half smoking rooms/half non-smoking rooms which makes the entire floor smell, so if you're not a smoker make sure you ask for a different floor. The location is pretty good though. We took a cab to 6th street for about $10. Also its right off of I-35 which makes it pretty easy to get to.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is half smoking rooms/half non-smoking rooms which makes the entire floor smell, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuanacaCurlZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay here often. It's always been reasonable and comfortable. Safe convenient location. They really need to shampoo the carpets and offer more than 1 sugar packet in a package, but other than that I have no complaints. Staff is always nice helpful and the ruins are always stocked and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a good hotel to sleep over on your way to Austin or after shopping all day in San Marcos's outlets.

Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and you get free wifi and breakfast in your stay.

The breakfast is basically cereal milk and some bread, nothing to remeber.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeRamirezLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed at this Howard Johnson a few times on recurring business trips to Austin. They have a nice place with affordable rates. The first time I stayed they were finishing up a nice renovation project. Staff is very helpful and friendly while accomodating. This place is SO much nicer than the first place I had stayed in the neighborhood. Whenever I am in this area of Austin, there's no question in my mind but to stay at this Howard Johnson location!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The best thing about it is that is really cheap... and you get breakfast (which is not great obviously). Quite dirty, smells funny, it has a pool, but it's not the cleanest, some of the people staying there are questionable (smoking, drinking etc). I'm not saying it's unsafe, but if you have other choises then don't stay here.

In need of a serious make over !!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank Kris4534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here 2.5 nights - let me explain;

Our first room on the 2nd floor was fine, until my girlfriend went to shower late at night and found that the shower stayed cold. The sink would get warm but no matter what the shower stayed cold. We asked to be moved the next morning and Larry at the front desk promptly arranged a new room on the 3rd floor that was identical but with hot shower water.

On our 2nd night my other half got very very sick. She was unable to check-out first thing so again Larry let us stay until 12:30. At midday it was evident she wasn't going to be able to get out of bed so front desk was very accommodating and let us stay until 5pm for a half-day rate in order to let her get rest before out train South. I felt this was a good outcome.

The rooms themselves are good, with comfy King beds, fridge, coffee and toiletries. Bathrooms are a bit small and lighting could be better.

Location-wise its not really walking distance to anywhere of use - we did the hike to SoCo district and enjoyed that although it is a decent stroll of about 30 minutes + to get there. If you have a car this is of course not an issue.

Room Tip: 3 storey building so ask for ground floor if you don't want to use lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here during the SXSW festival of 2012, for 9 nights, and the hotel was totally sufficient for my needs. To my pleasant surprise my relatively large room (2 kingsize beds) seemed to have been recently renovated. New furniture, new carpet, and recently plastered and painted walls. There was, however, a subtle smell of plaster and paint still present in the room. This was disturbing at first but I got used to it pretty quickly. There was also a fridge and a microwave in the room.

The bathroom was still in need of some work, as there were stains of mold around the doorpost and skirtings. The hotel seems to be undergoing a thorough renovation at the moment. I saw a whole lot of old thrown out furniture and carpets on the parking lot outside that got picked up by dumpster trucks a couple of days after I arrived.
The staff is nice and friendly and there to assist you 24/7. The traffic noise from I35 is not a problem since the rooms have double glass windows that isolate quite well. The complimentary breakfast is nothing fancy (cereal, bagels, creamcheese and that's it), but at least it's free.

The HoJo is definitely not comparable to Hilton or Marriott but I'd recommend this place any day to people visiting SXSW, or who just want to hang out in Austin for a few days without paying a fortune.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 201 in Austin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2711 Ih 35 S, Austin, TX 78741-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $50 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Austin, Tx Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing