We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Ranked #53 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Carol Stream, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Quiet rooms. Wonderful made to order breakfast. Staff is kind and courteous! Adequate fitness room; however, small pool but nice jacuzzi. This hotel is centrally located in the downtown area. Self-Parking is reasonable. Within walking distance to the shops and restaurants on Congress.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    336
    146
    81
    73
See reviews for
334
191
24
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at Embassy Suites during the Grand Prix at COTA as I had a group of customers staying and I wanted to be close-by, had little expectation on arrival other than a bed for the night, was very wrong.

So, yes, it is $25.00 to valet the car, upon checking with most other downtown Austin hotels, they too charge around the same. It is 'slightly' out of the way from 2nd - 6th St, however, they have a friendly free mini-van shuttle which runs whenever you want it to, otherwise a cab was less than $5.00 inc tip, or you could walk in 15 minutes. One last negative is that from the outside it looks awful, I was Very worried upon arriving that I'd made a mistake, not at all!

Those are the ONLY modest negatives I can say about a 7-night stay at the hotel, here's the good news.

- Excellent room with living area/sofa bed, huge flat screen, work space, refrigerator, microwave and coffee machine, through to the separate master bedroom with a superbly comfortable bed, fresh clean and good quality linens, lots of wardrobe space and another huge plasma. Bathroom was spotless and an excellent shower with lots of pressure.
- Wifi works everywhere and is reliable and fast.
- Great new movie selection on the TV as well as the standard 400 American cable channels
- FREE drinks & snacks every night from 17:30 - 19:30
- Breakfast included and was perfectly acceptable, fresh eggs/pancakes made to order, lots of juices etc
- Concierge extremely helpful, managed to change some of our restaurant reservations and make great suggestions, fantastic local 'bible' at their desk with everything that is good about eating/partying in Austin
- Was in and out of my vehicle repeatedly, didn't wait more than 2 minutes, most of the time the car was there by the time I'd come down from the room
- Stacy on the main bar (not the free one) a great bar-person with lots of local knowledge
- Reasonable pool and gym
- Friendly service wherever we went
- Very good food - had room service one night and ate at the bar another, fairly priced and delicious
- Very quick elevators

Best of all for me was the value, the room rate wasn't outrageously priced given they were at high occupancy for the Grand Prix, the food and drinks prices were extremely fair and I was actually so impressed with Embassy Suites that I'm now looking at them for my next US visit, really couldn't have asked for a better stay and I am fairly picky about my choice of hotels, heartily recommend this property, just don't judge it from the outside!

Room Tip: None of the rooms offer a particularly nice view, but who travels to look out the window?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I lost my wallet at the hotel and John, the manager went out of his way to find it. It is very hard to get on a plane without your ID, so I was so relieved. Great customer service!! The rooms are very nice and the location could not be better for work a the convention center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travleler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

EMBASSY SUITES HOTELS is a world class hotel that provides the comfort and pleasantry memories with its well cared, suited and beautified environment. The staff are well dressed with compliments every moment you have contact with them. EMBASSY SUITES HOTELS is worth patronizing any time and any day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Fasasi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Front desk was less than excited to have a paying customer. I was greeted with a half smile.
There was one wash cloth in a room that had two queen beds.
The towels smelled of bleach and were rough on the skin.
Parking garage was not attached to the building and they changed $16.00 to self park - $24 for valet, though no one was rushing out as we parked (arrived at 10pm)

The breakfast omelets were great. However, the fruit selection was seriously lacking.
Beds were super comfortable.
Location was good....off of I35 by a couple of blocks and easy access to South Congress.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Judge not from the outside but from the inside. Amenities, service and room features are amazing. Never felt so comfortable outside of my home.

Breakfast choices were pretty good with an option for made-to-order to suit your personal preferences

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The entire stay was delightful and the suite was extremely accomodating. The restaurant and bar, as well as the complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour, exceeded expectations. The location and view were quintessential Austin.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank EduardoB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Address: 300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#38 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas Hotel Austin
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Austin Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing