We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Ranked #47 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location across the bridge to music dining and drinking, easy walking distance
We met friends from New Orleans for weekend and they agreed it was the best place to stay
Friendly helpful staff everywhere, managers special well run and cooked to order breakfasts were excellent. Well done everyone on a busy weekend
We look for Embassy suites wherever we travel over USA and will definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolalady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    345
    151
    81
    73
See reviews for
343
202
24
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We are fans of suites and this room and layout were nicely done so we were comfortable but there were enough small problems to not give it a better rating. Those would include the challenging layout that others have mentioned as well as the wi-fi being intermittent at best, and our car getting a huge ding in the door while it was in valet parking. To get that kind of dent in the valet area, it had to be another valet parker who hit it. When we complained to the desk, they took the valet charge off our bill but made no other apologies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastTexGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The property is located near downtown Austin and located on Congress avenue. Still a cab ride to sixth street. The property is not layed out very well. Anytime you need to go to the parking garage you have walk around the building and take the elevator up to your car.
The rooms have been remodeled and look very well. The hotel did run out of towels. The hotel staff is great and the "free" shuttle was very fast and took us where we needed to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereiselgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm a self-proclaimed Embassy Suites groupie and always seek these hotels out first before booking for any trip. This Embassy Suites in Austin was just what I expected, super clean, friendly staff and a fantastic breakfast! The location is perfect for anyone wanting to "see the sights" as it is a few blocks from the SoCo shopping/dining, across the street from the bat bridge and you can see the capitol building from the parking garage. The hotel shuttle with transport guests within a 2 mile radius, which gets you to any of these sites for free. Zilker park is just a 5-10 minute drive away. Only cons: our first room had lighting and shower issues, but we were promptly switched to a new room when requested; wifi in the room is NOT free, but there are computers in the lobby; some have reviewed that the parking garage is a hassle, but it's not that bad. Yes, it's behind the hotel, but unless you're legs are broken I wouldn't consider it an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing downtown so you get the most awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaceyLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyd, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Embassy Suites on S. Congress is a great location to stay to experience downtown and south Austin. The hotel is showing its age in the public areas and bathrooms, at least in the suite we had. The Breakfast Buffet is a step below Denny’s and above McDonalds. The Happy Hour for me was very good, it was the first time I have ever received Foster’s beer for free. Overall it seems a little over priced, but the location is great. The staff was the highlight of our stay; everyone was always willing to help. A FAST shuttle service within two miles is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B52Gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Located in Down Town Austin, this hotel is close to most city sites. Town lake is just a few minutes walk away, providing great space for recreation.

Plenty of space in the room. Convenient desk to work on. Good Internet connectivity.

Nice fitness center.

I usually do not take breakfast due to early departure so I cannot comment on it.

Great hotel for Solo trips :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband has stayed in this hotel frequently for business and my daughter goes to school in Austin. Going to put the bad first, because I am really upset right now. There is a festival going on literally outside our window with very loud music. We were not told of this when we made reservations or when we checked in. I just called downstairs and was told the music would stop at 1:00 am and when I said that we should have been told this at check in, so I guess no sleep for us, she said, "Alrighty then."

It is a very nice, clean hotel. The main beds are very comfy, but the new couch pullout is terrible. It is centrally located. I normally think this hotel is great and love the location, but am not pleased with how this festival was handled and also not pleased with the response I got from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristifow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear kristifow,
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy festival. I have shared your review with our front desk team to ensure that this is not a problem in the future and we will be clearer in letting guests know in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,
Jody Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Address: 300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#38 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Austin, Texas on South Congress Avenue, the Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Downtown/Town Lake hotel offers convenient access to many attractions. Situated opposite the scenic Lady Bird Lake and its surrounding hike and bike trail, this downtown Austin hotel is the ideal destination for extended stays and short breaks. Find entertainment for the whole family at the trendy Warehouse District, historic 6th Street, Barton Springs Pool and the South Congress ‘SoCo’ shopping district. Highlights •Downtown all-suite Austin hotel on South Congress Avenue •Near Austin entertainment, including 6th Street and the Warehouse District •Located adjacent to Lady Bird Lake and the Congress Avenue Bridge •Free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary Evening Reception* •Newly renovated lobby, restaurants and bar •Flexible Austin hotel meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas Hotel Austin
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Austin Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing