We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied customer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Ranked #50 of 202 Hotels in Austin
A TripAdvisor Member
“Satisfied customer.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My company uses this hotel frequently for business trips to Austin. Nice place, great room, good price, free happy hour and breakfast were good. Cheaphotels.com got the good price for us that we could not get negotiating directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    355
    153
    82
    74
See reviews for
352
208
24
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DFW (HEB), TX
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Like all Embassy Suites, this one was very nice. The only real negatives is having to pay for parking and hotel wifi. Another thing was that there really wasn't much to the evening Manager"s Reception, but the breakfast in the morning was pretty good and had some variety as well. Just don't sleep late or you'll miss it as it runs from 730-900 am. The hotel bell staff can shuttle you to spots like SoCo (South Congress), The Capital Bldg, 6th St, etc. The bats are a short walk across from the hotel under the bridge. Their is also a parking lot there if you want to drive over.The activities on SoCo are also in longer walking distance, but downtown activities and 6th Street require driving. I know some say you can walk over the bridge into downtown, but IMHO it would be ridiculous to do so, especially if you have a family. We visited these areas mentioned and others such as the area near UT known as "The Drag" which has things going on when school is in session but not much now (Summer) The hotel is in a good location. Even Zilker Park was pretty close and a quick drive. The amenities in the hotel were nice.It was hard to get me to leave the pool and whirlpool, which are indoors. The hotel itself was in great shape and clean. Customer Service was top notch. I will definitely be staying here again in the future. The only reasons I didn't give a full 5 stars is because of the extra 9.99 a day for wifi and the evening reception event could have had better snack variety like I have seen at other Embassy Suites. I would've given a 4.5 star rating if the system would allow it.

Room Tip: Real close to the bats and South Congress, which was our favorite area. A short drive to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thullraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Thullraven,
Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor and giving such a thorough, nice review on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate all feedback in order to grow and make the next experience even better for our guests. We are very lucky to be situated in the midst of some of the wonderful and unique spots in Austin, TX. I am sorry to hear that there was not enough variety during the evening manager’s reception; I will certainly pass along your feedback and suggestions to the appropriate department.
Kind Regards,
Jody Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great location. Great service. Food was okay and pretty crowded......but it's summer and it's vacation season. Get used to it.
Stacey in the Copper Bar was awesome and a fantastic asset to this property. Lots of food and entertainment options very close at hand.
Gym and pool are very good, well maintained and clean.
Rooms are spotless.
Overall...........excellent choice for business, families or tourists.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are awesome. "Embassador" floor is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucker8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Tucker8585,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It appears that our staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed our restaurant, Copper Bar and Grill. I will pass on your kind comments to both the hotel and restaurant staff.

Kind Regards,
Jody Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just a short walk across the bridge to downtown (especially good if you want to enjoy the downtown nightlife), or use their shuttle.

Very Clean. Very Friendly. Decent Hot&Cold Breakfast. Definitely worth the walk to save vs other downtown hotels that are not likely to provide the same service, cleanliness, value.

Just south of the hotel on the main road is a quaint local business district - kinda quirky/bohemian/farmers markety - no chains allowed - be sure to reserve time to explore!

TIP: Booking options force a choice between free parking, free internet, or neither. If you already are an ATT subscriber, you can log in with your ATT userid for free internet service. Free parking is worth the add-on option vs paying daily separately, if you require it.

Room Tip: Higher up is better, if you want to sleep in, as the free breakfast attracts a crowd and it is rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequent_Traveler063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JodySmith, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Frequent_Traveler063,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us! I enjoyed reading your comments and will pass on the nice feedback to our staff.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip back to Austin!
Kind Regards,
Jody Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks when we arrived in Austin. We had great service from all of the staff. Very friendly and well organised. They were doing minor touch-ups to finish last years renovations but they worked around us very well.
We booked for our daughter to stay here when she traveled to meet up with us as we're in a small apartment, and there was a mixup with the booking. They squeezed her into the last remaining room (not a suite) and discounted the stay and transferred her to a regular suite as soon as one was available. Excellent customer service.

There is a distant train that comes through in the middle of the night which could be disturbing, we travel with a white noise maker. Our daughter didn't notice it.

Be very careful to book DOWNTOWN, the Embassy Suites Central is not Central and the name is very misleading. (The call center mixed them up on me.)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveaFullLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

hotel is in good location - very good hotel ,parking is in the back of the hotel .
the hotel is in the down town where all the action .

recommended to all ,nice place to be.
room are very big and hotel is near the river

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Once again a great place to stay. My wife and I stay here everytime we go to Austin for a weekend away (take the train from Ft. Worth great new spin on the trip to Austin and SA) once again Conrad Hilton gets it right and thank god the family has kept to his plan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quirt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
Address: 300 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-1221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#27 Family Hotel in Austin
#38 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Austin, Texas on South Congress Avenue, the Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Downtown/Town Lake hotel offers convenient access to many attractions. Situated opposite the scenic Lady Bird Lake and its surrounding hike and bike trail, this downtown Austin hotel is the ideal destination for extended stays and short breaks. Find entertainment for the whole family at the trendy Warehouse District, historic 6th Street, Barton Springs Pool and the South Congress ‘SoCo’ shopping district. Highlights •Downtown all-suite Austin hotel on South Congress Avenue •Near Austin entertainment, including 6th Street and the Warehouse District •Located adjacent to Lady Bird Lake and the Congress Avenue Bridge •Free made-to-order breakfast and complimentary Evening Reception* •Newly renovated lobby, restaurants and bar •Flexible Austin hotel meeting space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Austin - Downtown/Town Lake Austin Texas Hotel Austin
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Austin Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing