We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel is tired. Room smelled and towels were not clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central
Ranked #71 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel is tired. Room smelled and towels were not clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stay at a lot of Hilton Hotels and was very disappointed is this hotel. First, the good. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Always greeted you when you came and left and the hotel and asked if you needed anything or needed directions. That seemed to genuinely care about your stay. Also, the hotel has free parking. Wi-fi works in the living room but not very well in the bedroom.

Now the bad. The hotel is tired. Can’t really describe it any other way. I have Hilton Diamond status and the room I was given smelled of mold. I can’t imagine what a room would be like if you didn’t have Hilton status.

Also, a pipe above the tub, dripped water into the tub all night. Drip, Drip, Drip. Some sort of torture. It also meant the tub was all wet and I am not certain if this was clean water. Yuck.

The TOWELS WERE NOT CLEAN! The first towel I grabbed had yellow stains on it. Threw it on the floor. The second towel had black marks on it that looked like shoe polish. There is no excuse for putting stained and filthy towels on the rack for a guest to use.

Highway noise bothered me the first night but not really the second. Not certain how that could be fixed since the hotel is so close to the highway.

There are plenty of other hotels around. I will be staying at one of those next time.

Room Tip: This is on the Northbound Frontage Road of I-35. Make certain you are on the correct road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerfromSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAus, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest suite appearance is an area we are actively examining. We apologize for the towels and have addressed this issue with our housekeeping team. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Hospitably yours,
Jim Reist, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    284
    174
    115
    65
See reviews for
278
126
32
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Embassy Suites Hotel Austin Texas is a very nice hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it to every travel for business, leisure or medical (close to hospitals) or university (close to UT Austin). Employees are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean throughout all areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank FFMfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel somewhat dated and thusly over priced, but not a bad stay. Business center computers did not work and wi-fi is only available in the lobby unless you pay extra for it. Will probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Sadie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Leonard, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just stayed one night but it was a great stay. The staff is very friendly. The evening reception and breakfast are up to par for an Embassy Suite. Fitness room was small but clean and all the equipment was in working order. In room WIFI signal was a little weak but maintained connection the entire time. Location is not in the city center but it was close to where my meeting was held. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Was A Great Stay,The Beds Were Comfortable and Love The Restaurant in The Lobby also Very Helpful Staff, My Family had A Great Time Here, I Really Suggest This Hotel, It Was A Great,Comfortable Stay !

Room Tip: The Rooms on The Right Side of the Hotel (opposite from the restaurant) Have A Better View outside f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is extremely worth the price! Loved the decor and layout of the lobby and rooms. Free made to order breakfast and evening managers reception were a wonderful surprise!! Great place for business, family, couples, etc. The only issue was the indoor pool... only because the chlorine in the air was so strong it burned your eyes. Other than that... it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel four years ago and it was satisfactory. Following our stay on 7/13 through 7/15 last week, we will not be staying again. The hotel had severe smell issues in the corridors and the rooms, and the carpets were stained throughout the hotel. We were offered the low price of $50 per night, plus HHonor points and thought w were getting a great deal. Now we now why the price was so low. Our room wasn't cleaned on one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#32 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central
Address: 5901 North I-35, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing