We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice conference facilities, so-so guest rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Ranked #54 of 199 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice conference facilities, so-so guest rooms”
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I attended a three-day conference at this hotel. The conference rooms, service, and amentities were very nice. The guest rooms, however, are a little worn. The guestroom furniture needs to be replaced, and the walls desperately need some paint. A couple of very minor complaints: There is a charge to park in the hotel's parking garage, which seems unnecessary given that the hotel is not downtown. (It's not like parking space is at a premium in that area of Austin.) My second complaint---get ready to roll your eyes or laugh---was the pillows. The pillow cases seemed too small for the pillows! (I'm reaching, I know...) If you aren't careful, you end up laying on the bare pillow, which somehow seems unsanitary. These absurdly minor complaints are easily made up for by the fresh, warm Doubletree cookie that greets you when you check in. Overall, this is a very good hotel for a conference; and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. We do a lot of meetings and events at the hotel and our banquet staff does a great job, thank you for recognizing them. Regarding your guestroom experience, we had two floors at the hotel that were past due for a re-model and I am very happy to report that these have now been completed and they look great! I am confident that the room you were referring to was on one of these floors.

I will have to admit that the comment regarding the pillow case is the first time I have heard it but I will certainly look into it.

Our guests really love the cookies at check in, glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back in the future, in the meantime, please do not hesitate to reach out if I can be of service.

Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    363
    245
    101
    59
See reviews for
184
138
58
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I attended a medium sized (250) conference here. I did not stay in this hotel because I stayed with a friend. The meeting rooms wre nice and big. My only complaint was that other people were using the ballroom next door and when they cheered Friday night it made it difficult to hear our speaker. The hotel charges $8 for self parking but we were able to park for $5 a day with in and out privileges. The courtyard and lobby are beautiful. I would consider this hotel for a conference although the lack of free parking is a minus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinity-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write, your feedback is valuable and greatly appreciated. We do a lot of meetings, conventions and social events at the hotel. Our banquet staff have been together for a very long time and they do a wonderful job in meeting and exceeding the expectations of our guests.

When we block groups, we do look at any possible noise transfer from one group to the next and work very hard to try to avoid these issues, I apologize that your meeting was impacted by noise from another group. I appreciate the kind words regarding the courtyard, it is definitely the focal point of the hotel and our guests really love it. I do understand the concern regarding the parking charge but bear in mind that it is a covered garage connected to the hotel which is a nice feature during those long hot Texas summers. We hope to see you back again in the very near future.


Best regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, California, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Austin is always my favorite place in TX. It reminds me a little bit of CA, unlike most of the other places in TX - flat, big, and hot.

This hotel is located in a convenient location. Room was nice and the services were good too. Food was decent. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantacyhowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thanks for the great feedback on our location, rooms and service, it is greatly appreciated and I will share with the team here at the hotel. Hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Initially, this looked like a nice hotel. I attended a seminar and the open courtyard looked great. However, they claim this is a non-smoking hotel. All the smokers hang out on the veranda surrounding the courtyard and smoke. The AC sucks the smoke into your room. Please note, when you check in, you sign an agreement to pay additional moneys to the hotel if you smoke or bring a pet into your room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience, your feedback is very valuable to us. I do appreciate the kind words about the courtyard.

We have 350 rooms at the hotel and just 6 of those rooms are considered smoking rooms. These 6 rooms are located in isolation from the rest of the hotel and have doors that open to the outside rather than being accessed through an interior corridor. This keeps any “secondhand smoke” out of the guestroom corridors so that our non-smoking guests are not impacted. We currently do allow smoking in the exterior courtyard of the hotel.

The hotel charges a $150 “room recovery fee” for guests who choose to smoke in a non-smoking room. We charge this fee to assist with covering our costs in the cleaning and odor elimination process that must take place and also of course to discourage it from happening to begin with.

I am happy to report that it is very rare that this happens anymore and on the few occasions where it does, we react very swiftly to ensure our non-smoking guests are not impacted.

Again, I do appreciate the feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The reviews on here scared me! Got here on Priceline bid, and was pleasantly surprised! Room on 6th floor was big and clean, bed was comfy, staff was real nice....had a 2nd door that looked out at the pool, courtyard area...very nice to have that.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daltexsteev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you very much for the feedback, it’s greatly appreciated. The hotel has recently finished the renovation of its last two floors and I am happy to report that all rooms are now up to the high standards that one would expect from a Doubletree Hotel.

We appreciate the comments on the work we completed and I am glad that you found our rooms to be large and clean with great beds. It’s always nice to read great commentary about our staff and I will share it with them.

We hope to see you back in the very near future.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My daughter is a UT student and I have been to Austin so many times. I normally stay further out but wanted to see if there was a hotel closer to her house that could meet my needs. This was not it!

My first room was remodeled and looked good UNTIL I was ready to get in the shower and found the bath mat soaked - with the soap neatly displayed on top of it. Either the maid had not cleaned it or the room had been used after. I tossed the mat out and prepared to use a towel on the floor as my mat. I opened the soap and tossed the wrapper into the trash to find that the trash was NOT empty - it had DIRTY DIAPERS in it. That was it for me! Oh - did I mention that this hotel is a maze and I was as far from the elevator as I could possibly be? I actually had to get a floor map from the desk when I couldn't find my first room.

The clerk was very apologetic and moved me to a different room. This one had not been remodeled. It needs it. However, it was comfortable so I showered and went to sleep. I woke to a bathroom full of bugs! Gnats. The desk clerk seemed unconcerned - they seem to be everywhere and the hotel is having a hard time getting a handle on it. Oh my.

I was unable to change or alter my reservation in any way as I had used hotels.com and the Doubletree has a policy to not allow changes without a forfeit of a rooms fee. Well, I had to tough it up and stay one more night. They did give me free breakfast that I didn't use since I had plans with my daughter. My normal hotel has a nice hot breakfast FREE and FREE parking - this one didn't.

I left something behind and I have contacted housekeeping - I am still waiting for them to call me back..Still waiting.

I will stay where I normally stay. I won't use this place again. There are some fine hotels in Austin. This is not it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumziepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thank you very much for providing me with feedback on your recent stay. I will have to say that I was very disappointed to read about your experience, we failed in multiple areas and I am truly sorry. Guestroom cleanliness is at the forefront of a great hotel stay and what you experienced is unacceptable both our housekeeping staff and I. Please be assured that we have sat down as a team and discussed your stay in detail and we have taken action from the comments you made.

I am happy to report that the renovation to our guestrooms is now complete so you can expect the same consistent high standards throughout the property.

I would certainly like to have the opportunity to demonstrate to you that this was an isolated incident and that we are capable of far better. Please reach out to me personally when your plans bring you back to Austin and I will personally ensure that your stay is flawless.


Best Regards

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have used this hotel for conferences ranging in size from 300 to 800 people. Their staff is the best I have ever dealt with in the conference business. They have nice rooms and wonderful conference space, but their greatest asset is their staff. I can't say enough about them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent conference experience. We do a lot of meeting and events business at the hotel and consider the delivery of an exceptional meetings experience to be one of our core competencies.

Certainly the quality of meeting rooms and guestrooms is a large part of that equation but without doubt, it is out employees and the service they offer that truly sets us apart. I am very proud of our banquet and kitchen staff, they do a great job and many of them have been with the hotel for 10+ years, in fact, there are only a handful that have been with us less than 5 years. We consider this high rate of retention to be the key to our success.

We hope to see you back in the hotel in the near future for another successful conference.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 199 in Austin
1,179 reviews
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 199 in Austin
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing