We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Ranked #54 of 201 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denton, United States
1 review
“Superb treatment”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I received kind and considerate treatment from this hotel for the weekend. My goodness that would entail more words than I can express for this review. I was originally assigned a room which upon opening the door, was untidy and not ready for a new guest. I was quickly swooped up by two employees and immediately was assigned a clean empty room across the hall. The newer room seemed smaller and darker, but I faired well. As a token of their error I received two breakfast on the house tokens. Hope this gives you enough words to satify you wordy greed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff here at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. We thrive on providing the best service we possibly can and our team members truly enjoy interacting with our guests at every chance possible. I do apologize regarding the initial error that occurred in your stay and I am glad we were able to resolve it quickly.

Once again we appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again the next time your conference is in town.

Best Regards,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    371
    248
    102
    62
See reviews for
187
143
60
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. The lavoratory faucets had low water flow resulting in the tempurature of the water being hard to adjust. In previous stays the Hotel had provided the local newpaper in front of the door in the hallway each morning. I would appreciate that service in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your most recent stay here at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin hotel. Cleanliness is an important topic for us and I am pleased to read that it was up to your standards. In regards to the newspaper being delivered to your door every morning, to support our green initiatives, we now provides the newspaper online or in our Café while you can enjoy one of our freshly made omelets’. Once again I appreciate your review and I look forward to your next stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin.

Best Wishes,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least once per year for a conference. It is always a good value, courteous service and decent room with a comfortable bed. If your room faces the courtyard there could be a little noise but it never last too long or is ever too annoying.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank astrosfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about the value and service you received here at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. Our Doubletree sweet dream beds are some of the best in town and we receive many positive comments regarding them. I will inform our banquet team that their hard work is being noticed and appreciated. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return visit the next time you are in Austin.


Best Regards,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent accomadations! Everything at your finger tips. Rooms are very clean and beds are just wonderful...able to relax just like at home! At a late lunch in the resturant/bar downstairs ...it was awesome!! Well beyond anything I would have expected!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tabatha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make such kind remarks about the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. It is our goal to make our guests feel welcome after a long day of travel. I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed your late lunch in our Café. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of your company on your next trip to Austin.


Best regards,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is an older hotel that does not quite live up to the standards of newer, more modern amenities (e.g., no refrigerator or microwave oven in the room). That notwithstanding, one can expect a good night's rest that is bolstered by excellent maid service. Leave them a tip when you leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Errol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I would like to thank you for your stay; we appreciate the great comments about our housekeeping service. I have already passed the good news on to our room attendants; they enjoy hearing positive feedback about their work. While we do not have fridges and microwaves in every room, they are available upon request. Once again, thank you for your great feedback about the Housekeeping team and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Austin.

Best regards,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was in town on business and reservations were made here. It is a lovely hotel, the inner courtyard is just beautiful with a pool, jacuzzi, chairs tables, gardens. The rooms were fine as well. It was just little things that fell short and in some cases they remarked they were working on it. The instructions to log in to the internet missed an important piece, what network to select, so I had to make a call after a few minutes playing around. The staff were polite, but not that extra service mile you want. One night I wanted a glass of wine for the room for the night, so I went asked asked the bartender what white wines they had and she simply pointed to a chalkboard behind me (there was only one person at the bar). I also asked for a big glass of the white and she took the standard amount and poured it into a bigger glass. At that point I did not feel like explaining. The next night, I was at the bar and it was more lively that night one. The bartender did not speak, did not engage with the patrons, I asked again for the white wine list and before the finger went up to point, I asked if they had a wine list. The girl had no personality, said nothing, hard to get her attention. The good part of the trip was the young manager. I was a little lost and he nicely guided me. Since he was so nice, I did let him know about the bar tending issues and he was really receptive. I appreciated that. I was also happy they had a shuttle to the airport. There is really nothing in the area, a seafood restaurant and a Mexican place which was OK. Papacitas or something. I'll warn everyone, the portions are wayyyyy tooooo big. Margaritas come in a mug or fishbowl. It was little awkward being a business traveler by myself there, but the waiter was great.

Room Tip: There is no view so really it does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the ambiance of the hotel. That being said, I do apologize about the inconveniences that occurred. I will follow up with the correct departments and make sure that something like this does not happen again. I appreciate your decision to make the comments that you did and I hope that you come back and give us another try.

Best regards
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night. The hotel stated they were full when we tried to switch to a king sized bed from two queens and couldn't give us a king. Oh well, we had booked the queens. But, the parking lot was not full so I am not sure the hotel was really full. The hotel in general has a rundown, slightly dirty feel. Not terrible, but more like a hotel that wants to be nice but just can't quite get there.

We had an ugly 2nd floor view of the Papadeaux parking lot. But, we were able to self park on the 2nd floor of the parking garage so we could just walk straight out to our car which was nice.

We did get two cookies at check in which ended up being a quick breakfast snack the next morning. The water pressure in the sink and shower was very weak and the tub diverter did not work well so the shower pressure was even lower. Nice pod style coffee maker in room but no refrigerator.

Bed was fairly comfortable but actually very bouncy. We go back to Austin in a month and will be going to a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize that we were unable to change your room type from the double/double you reserved to a king when you were checking in. While there were rooms available at the hotel, we were completely sold out of king size rooms. I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy our famous Doubletree Chocolate Chip cookies even if it was early the next morning. Even though we do not have a refrigerator in every room, if requested we are more than happy to deliver one. Thank you again for providing feedback, it helps us better understand the needs and wants of our guests.

Thank you,
John Magnuson
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Austin
#56 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing