We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful --- 2nd room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Ranked #54 of 199 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Andrews, TX, United States
1 review
“Wonderful --- 2nd room”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Wellll, upon check in, the initial room that was given ignored my one request/plea to be put as near an elevator as possible due to my bad knee (surgery/knee replacement soon). In fact, it was a country mile from the elevator --- I drug myself there and back and down to the lobby and front desk, where I was able to remind them to peruse my reservation request --- I was then told that it would take 2 more hours before they could re-accomodate me with a new room, but I was able to convince them that this would not be a good idea and my new room was perfect and no more problems! Every thing else was marvelous!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin hotel. It troubles me that we did not see your special requests upon your initial arrival, but I was pleased to read that we could make it up to you. Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next visit to Austin.

Best Wishes,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    363
    245
    101
    59
See reviews for
184
138
58
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is beginning to look a little shabby. It is obvious that the small details that make an outstanding hotel are being ignored at the Doubletree Austin. The lack of adequate air-conditioning in the halls and in the meeting rooms was outrageous. A hotel cannot be top-rated when the guests are subjected to such discomfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey about your stay. I am sorry to hear that it was not everything you thought it should be. We did have a minor AC outage in our corridors during your stay that has since been rectified. I have provided my information below, feel free to call or email me if you have more questions and comments about your stay. I can promise that the next time you come to Austin if you decide to stay with us, you will not be disappointed.

Sincerely,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
John.Magnuson@interstatehotels.com
512-374-4809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. The cost, quality, and business facilities were excellent. I liked the buffet breakfast, quality of the rooms, and excellent service for me as an individual guest and also a conference attendee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel on your recent visit to Austin. I was very pleased to read that you had an excellent time during your conference. We hope you choose us again the next time your conference is in Austin.

Sincerely,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. Had to request a receipt that showed a zero balance and the staff were very accommodating. Complimentary coffee and fruit water was very nice. Close to restraunants ............................................................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Earlene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin hotel. We are very proud of our employees and the great service they offer our guests. I myself also enjoy the fruit water, personally I think the orange is the best but the lemon and lime is a close second. Once again thank you for taking the time to fill out a review regarding the hotel and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best wishes,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, wonderful for meetings, conference meals are good, plenty of space. Large hotels mean a long walk to your room, but that's normal.

But no coffee shop/Starbucks, etc. For breakfast, you go to restaurant or order room service. Giftshop selection poor. A hotel this size can do better!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this great feedback about the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. I am pleased to read that your overall stay was satisfactory. I am sorry to read that you were not able to find what you were looking for in the Gift Shop. They normally have a wide variety of items from sodas and snacks to Austin memorabilia. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Austin.

Best Regards,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We normally stay @ the Double Tree close to UT , but decided to try the one off of 35 . When we arrived the top sheet on the bed was stained in several places and the carpet is dirty . My Internet would never connect . Just an over all disappointment . I thought they renovated this hotel but obviously Not !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carruth2866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and enlighten us on your stay. I do apologize that it was not up to your standards. I will agree that the sheets should not have been put on your bed if there was a stain on them. I can assure you that I will be personally following up with our Housekeeping department to make sure this does not happen again. If you would like to discuss your stay further, I have put my information below, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail. That is not our expected service and I can assure that it will not happen again.


Thank you,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
John.Magnuson@interstatehotels.com
512-374-4809
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I recently had our Wedding at the Double Tree Hotel. The service from each employee at this hotel was above the 5 star rating! The food was great, and Our Catering Sale Manager Colleen Carswell was AMAZING! She is one of the sweetest people around. Our Wedding turned out PERFECT and she is to thank for it. :) Thank you Double Tree!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Re Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Guest Services Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
First of all I would like to say Congratulations! It’s an honor that you would share such an amazing day with us here at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin hotel. Colleen is a great wedding coordinator and we are glad to have her on our team. I will make sure to pass on the great comments to her and we thank you for taking the time to fill out a review.

Best Wishes,
John Magnuson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 199 in Austin
1,179 reviews
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 199 in Austin
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing