We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Ranked #52 of 203 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alameda, United States
1 review
“Hotel Stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On vacation, personal. Stayed at the Doubletree Hilton North right off I35. Very nice place to stay, would stay there again. Buffet breakfast was so so, hit and miss each day. Cell phone connection in the room was not very good at all

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. I am delighted that you were pleased overall. I do apologies that breakfast was not entirely to your liking and will be looking further into that.

We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.


Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    376
    249
    103
    62
See reviews for
192
144
61
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

When I called the reservation desk to book our trip the agent said yes, we could have a king room but the rollaway for our daughter would be $109 extra per night! I thought that was outrageous so I called the hotel direct. The agent at the hotel apologized and said that was their old policy and of course, we could have a rollaway at no extra charge. But other than that, our stay was very comfortable. It is not far from downtown or the university.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Hall279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the miss-information you received when making your reservation but I was pleased to see that our staff rectified the situation.

I appreciate the positive comments and overall rating and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Double Tree for a conference at the university. For the university it is well placed but that leaves it a little distant to the main city. The staff st the hotel really try hard to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are clean and spacious for the European traveller.

The only negative issue I could find was the high beer prices.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowcat_mdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the review of your recent stay the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel and the positive comments regarding our wonderful employees and guestrooms. You have my apologies that you found the beer prices to be in the high side. On your next visit, I would recommend joining us in the Lounge between 4pm and 7pm when we have discounts on our drink and appetizer prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Overall, this is a GREAT hotel and I have stayed here when in Austin for the past 13 years. This last time my vehicle was vandalized and cost me $188. When I asked about compensation for this cost, I was informed that since I had not valet parked, it was not covered (even though I had to pay $8/night for parking). This was not something that was shared at check-in and if I had known, I may have chosen valet. There was also no offer by the hotel to pay for one or both nights due to the vandalism.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the overall positive rating on the hotel, we appreciate your loyalty for the past 13 years. I enjoyed the opportunity to speak with you over the phone this week to talk more about your concern and come up with a resolution that met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,


Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times as it is right around the corner from my Corporate office. The staff is always nice and friendly and the rooms are always immaculate and very nice. I will tontinue to stay here every time I come to Austin! Kudos to the staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank for the great review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Austin Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and taking the time to recognize our wonderful employees.

We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I hated their tv selections. They did not have usual cable channels, but their own selection of prerecorded tv. I like to feel at home when I am in the room, and this took much of the pleasure out of watching tv for relaxation as I would at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for the feedback regarding your recent stay. The hotel currently provides 39 free-to-guest all high-definition TV Channels including the major networks and most popular cable channels. As I mentioned when we spoke, none of channels are pre-recorded and when we next review our channel line-up we will consider the suggestions you made including TV-Land and ID.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.


Best regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

if you need to use the internet, do not stay at this hotel. Also, being it's located about 5 miles from downtown, you miss out on everything downtown has to offer. The traffic is terrible, so I would recommend staying directly downtown and walking to everything

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the challenge with internet. Unlike many hotels who only offer a paid internet option, we have a complimentary internet option available for all our guests at standard browsing speeds. For guests who require a significant amount of bandwidth, we do have a premium internet option available for a price of $9.95 per day.

We continually evaluate the products and services we offer our guests and will consider your feedback as we look at the bandwidth allocated to our complimentary internet option in the future.


Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#26 of 203 in Austin
1,214 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 203 in Austin
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing