We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin
Ranked #54 of 202 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because of the price and to get hilton points, but it is rather old and definitely in need of updating.

Pool is small and if you are not familiar with the way I-35 and 290 crosses, it can be tricky on getting to the property.

It was just okay.....decent enough to stay a night or two. 2 bed room option....beds were SMALL, not queens.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitTHEbeachFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Tanks for taking the time to write, I appreciate the feedback. The hotel is designed in an old-world Spanish Colonial style which is rather unique for this area. We are continually making improvements to our hotel and always listen to the voice of our customer when planning future renovations.

I will definitely keep you comment about full size beds versus queen size beds in mind when looking at future modifications to our two bed room option.
We hope to see you back in the very near future.


Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our company holds most of our off-site meetings at the Doubletree on I-35 in Austin. Great, courteous, helpful staff! Facility and meeting rooms outstanding as well. Well-laid out, very pleasant. Breakfasts, lunches excellent, too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve78723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thanks for the feedback, we take a lot of pride in our ability to deliver an exceptional meetings experience and credit this to our great banquet and kitchen staff. Most of them have been with us for many years and they are all true professionals.

Looking forward to welcoming you back shortly


Best Regards


James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel was average with Hilton amenities. The service, however, was great. The people were nice and knowledgable. If I am in this area again, I will definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cogicstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent experience, we sincerely appreciate the feedback and positive comments about our wonderful employees.

We hope to see you back in the very near future.

Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I have been consistently pleased with this Doubletree! I have used the hotel for a mini family reunion the past few summers and have been very happy with the rooms and the staff! Our gathering is small so, I worked directly with Bill King the Reservations Manager. Bill made the difference in making our event a success. My reservation needs are specific (because members of my family are seniors) and he has always been very accommodating in ensuring that the right combination of rooms are reserved perfectly. I am so grateful for him and the friendly desk staff (Cindy, Melissa) in making our trip to Austin a yearly success.

I was also pleased to see that the exercise facility was completely renovated, nice new look and equipment. Although I was on vacation I still had to take care of some work so I used the business center – it was easy to access and had every thing I needed, I was back to vacation mode in no time.

We’ve officially made The Double Tree Austin our reunion hotel and we'll be back in 2012! I highly recommend this hotel for work or pleasure.

Staff, Location, and Accommodations consistently exceeds expectations each reunion.

Room Tip: Jr.Suites are located on corners and have extra room, great for families. Stayed on upper floor on I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qdberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thanks for the great feedback, we really appreciate it. Any hotel is only as good as the people that work in it and I am delighted that your interactions with Bill, Cindy and Melissa were positive. I really enjoy sharing these comments with our employees and recognizing them for their hard work and I appreciate you giving me an opportunity to do that.

I am glad you enjoyed the newly renovated fitness center and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel itself has a spanish charm about it. The service was as good as at a more expensive hotel. I made a comment about flying out very early the next morning to the person that delivered the room service, Mary Ellen. Shortly, she returned to my room with a food box with some fruit, muffins, and tea for my breakfast the next morning. The room was spacious. My only negative was that it was as far as you could get from the parking garage and that paying for parking was required.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room that is close to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniefromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay, we really appreciate the positive feedback and I am delighted that your experience was good.

Mary Ellen is one of our many superstars, she takes so much pride in her work and loves to surprise our guests. I have shared your comments with her and the entire team here at the Doubletree by Hilton. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

ive been stayn at this hotel for a couple of years and i travel 4 days a week and stay in alot of hotels.the staff at your doubletree are without a doubt,the friendlest and most helpful of any of the hotels i stay at.the rooms are always clean and fresh.just thought youd like to know what a great staff you have and i think your very lucky to have such great people repersenting your company,to bad all hotels dont have your kind of staff.i always recomend your hotel to friends when they go to austin and will continue to do so,again congratulations on your fine staff.ill always be a customer.bill cleere

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcleeresr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thanks for the great feedback regarding the hotel and our wonderful employees. We are indeed very fortunate to have such great people working at the hotel to serve the needs of our guests each day. We enjoy receiving comments such as yours and always pass them on.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,


James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The DoubleTree conference staff was helpful and fun to work with. They timing was speedy and the staff provided good service. The hotel's event coordinator was beyond helpful. She is very good at her job and she provided beneficial information which lead to a successful conference. Overall, the participants enjoyed the foods and their rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cneufeld_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jprendeville, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent conference experience. Cathy and Vanessa coordinate most of our conferences and we are very proud of the job they do and their dedication to great customer service.

I am glad your participants enjoyed the food and rooms and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

James Prendeville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Crowne Plaza Austin
#22 of 202 in Austin
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin

Address: 6505 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78752-4346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Austin
#32 Family Hotel in Austin
#41 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $95 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin, centrally located at the intersection of IH-35 North and Highway 290 East. Situated between the downtown business district and the Austin Arboretum, the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin is just 20 minutes from Austin Bergstrom International Airport and five minutes from downtown Austin. Our elegant Spanish Colonial-style hotel is minutes from the best shopping, dining and entertainment Austin has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Austin Hotel Austin
Doubletree Austin
Austin Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing