We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food”

Mandola’s Italian Market
Ranked #204 of 3,728 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
412 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Took our son & room-mate for dinner on a Thursday. Had to get used to ordering like "take-out" but the food was wonderful, service was quick, and the desert counter was out of this world. Plus there are gluten-free products, so we'll return with wife/mother too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    70
    20
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tasty food and cute atmosphere”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A friend recommended this place for dinner and are we ever glad they did! It's very informal, so if you're looking for a quiet, romantic date spot, this isn't where you want to go. If you want good Italian food with mouth-watering desserts, you should consider this little gem.

The location on Guadalupe (in the Triangle) has three sections: an outside terrace, an inside quieter section, and the main section that is the loudest. When you arrive, walk to the inside section that has the display cases for food where they have their menus. Stand in line and wait until the next available cashier beckons you over (like waiting in an airport check-in line.) You place your order, get a table marker, and find your own table. Be sure to pick up silverware and napkins on your way; they're not on the tables.

There were four of us, and everyone tried different items, but we all agreed the food was delicious.

First, a waiter brought us a basket of soft bread, cut into squares, and served with a plate of yummy garlic and spice-infused olive oil. It was outstanding! The four of us ordered their eggplant Parmesan, lasagna, tortellinis with vegetables in a cream sauce, and a salad. Servings are not huge, but big enough to satisfy; there are take-home containers available for guests who would like to enjoy their leftovers later, and we did that with the generous lasagna, the only dish that wasn't finished at the restaurant.

The desserts looks like they were made in Heaven, and there were several that we wanted to try. Unfortunately, we were in quite a hurry and had to leave right away, but we thought next time we'd start with the desserts and take home the entrées.

We really liked the casual atmosphere and shelves with a tantalizing array of Italian food items to browse and select to prepare at home. We will definitely return when we have more time to enjoy dessert and to check out the Italian foods to cook at home.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our delicious, but too short, meal and look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands Tx
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This place is awesome”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is my third time eating here. Grab a menu, then a table. Make your selections and go to the counter to order. The meatballs are the fantastic and super moist. The chicken Parmesan is the best I've eaten anywhere. All the pizzas are great too. The cheese stuffed ravioli are sooo good! If you like Italian come here you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TXMomTheWoodlandsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
306 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great place. Give a try”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Order from menu but extra stuff like silverware and get on your own. Bu t its really nice place, great location. Food was great as we well. We will come back.

Helpful?
Thank Divebabydive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent Italian food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have eaten at Mandola's in the Triangle as well as Mandola's on Wm Cannon. The food is good but not outstanding. The Pizza is their best offering. The crust is very good and the options are varied. The salads are not exceptional and the pasta items not very varied. We enjoy getting the bread with oil as we wait for our meal. The place is kid friendly, the gelato delicious and there are some Italian grocery items for sale.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandola’s Italian Market also viewed

 

Been to Mandola’s Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing