We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #37 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

First time to Austin!! The Hotel Ella was recommended to me as a great hotel centrally located to most things.
When we arrived I was blown away by the beauty of this hotel. A great mix of the past and present!!
The staff was super friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a great brunch in the hotel's restaurant-Goodalls!
Add us to the long list of people that "Highly Recommends" the Hotel Ella!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbyd943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Bobbyd943:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella and for sharing your first Austin experience with us! We are so pleased to hear that you were blown away by the beauty of this hotel and that the staff was super friendly and helpful. We really appreciate your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    76
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
59
146
7
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had to travel to Austin for business and spent 3 nights at this hotel. I was really impressed with the style of the room and the amenities. The staff were so friendly and the courtyard with the pool is very inviting. The restaurant served a great breakfast and the mansion itself has been redone with great taste. I had a room overlooking the pool, which I thought was great, until a group of guests decided to party out there for the last two nights I was there! My colleagues had rooms overlooking the UT housing in the back and they slept soundly in the peace and quiet. I hadn't planned on that, and was disappointed that the staff didn't actually monitor the noise level. I didn't actually call the front desk myself which I probably should have but beware that pool rooms can be noisy.

The location is good, although there was construction on both sides of new housing for the university it felt like an oasis. The street in front is a main drag with lots of traffic but the hotel itself with its large inviting front porch and comfy chairs seemed miles away. it was an easy walk to the Capitol and Congress Street and overall I thought the hotel gave you good value for the price. I'm not really sure about the tacky Chanel handbag sculpture in the front however... I think they ought to ditch that. Overall it is a nice boutique hotel and gave friendly, personal feel in the big, built up city of Austin. They are also really nice about driving you downtown in the Escalade!

Room Tip: Beware of rooms above the pool as you can never tell who is going to show up late at night. Call the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swansea1blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear swansea1blue:

Thank you for your detailed review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you were really impressed with the style of the room and the amenities and that you found the staff to be friendly and the courtyard to be inviting. We are glad you had the opportunity to have breakfast at our restaurant as well. We apologize for the noise level by the pool during your stay. We are glad that the property location was convenient for you - good news, the construction should be finished in August! We would love to welcome you back to Hotel Ella soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Close (within walking distance to UT) to major amenities in Austin. An oasis in the city. Everything was perfect from the spa style pool to drinks on the verandah. This is the place to stay in Austin!

Room Tip: overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CassieMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear CassieMom2013:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found Ella to be an oasis in the city and that you enjoyed the spa style pool and drinks on the veranda. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Unpretentious, yet efficient and relaxing. The staff is well-trained and really seems to understand the importance of customer satisfaction. Rooms large, clean, bright and well-appointed. Quiet. Great AC (you know how some hotel's don't always work right). Great food in the restaurant. Good, fairly priced wine list. Overall, great stay for the price and beats the heck out of that downtown Zoo.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Robert M:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be well-trained and tthe rooms large, clean, bright and well-appointed. We emphasize the importance of customer satisfaction and are glad to know this reflected on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location. Wonderful rooms and very comfortable beds/pillows. Loved the quietness of the annex. We overlooked the pool area. We had breakfast and dinner in Goodall's. Excellent. My favorite was the Nutella Creme Brulee! Loved sitting on the veranda. Even though it was July we had a nice breeze that made it very pleasant to gather and visit out there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Linda B:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella! We are happy to have accommodated your family for the reunion. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be wonderful and that you loved sitting on the veranda. The Nutella Creme Brulee is one of our favorites as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel Ella is great if you are from out of town or local. I used to live in Austin and went to hotel Ella quite often for after work cocktails. Now, I stay here when in town for work. Great space. amazing pool. friendly team. the stay is easy and good. the night time turn down service is sweet with a treat and a jug of water. love it. some people that don't know austin well may say the location is a bit outside of downtown but that's not true. it is a few blocks, but easy by cab and still in the heart of things- plus a bit more quiet. stay here when in austin.

Room Tip: Hotel Ella is gorgeous. now with a pool. people may say it is a bit outside some of the hipper place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jillr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear jill r:

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear you have been coming back continually. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoy the pool, friendly team, and the turn down service. When visiting again, feel free to use our complimentary shuttle service in one of our Ella Cadillacs to take you the few blocks downtown. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was chosen for me by a company I interviewed with in Austin. It is elegant and whimsical in decor. Bed was very comfortable and the food at the restaurant was delicious. Above all the staff is very well trained and attentive. The only addition I recommend is to add dressers to the rooms. We had to live out of our suitcase for any items that we did not hang in the closet because there were no drawers in the room. It looked like the rooms were being redone with new tile and perhaps this will be a part of that improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sara K:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ell. We are pleased to hear you found the decor to be elegant and whimsical, and that your bed was comfortable and the food was delicious. We take great pride in on our well trained and attentive staff, so we appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to announce that we are currently going through a renovation that includes new room furnishings. We invite you to come experience the updates first hand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#20 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#27 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Property: Hotel Ella
Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing