We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small town charm, elegant boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at HotelElla. The room was great, breakfast delicious and I loved the wrap around veranda. The service was good with the exception of one of the evening front desk staff who was a little too informal. Overall though, staying at Hotel Ella was a definite highlight of my visit to Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear halliene:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you loved the wrap around veranda - we love it as well! We love hearing that we were your highlight of your visit to Austin. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great staff, quiet and good food. Juste far enough from the noisy crowd of SXSW. Nice causy bar. There's a very nice lady at the front desk who also speaks french, her name is Briana, she's fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Hans L:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, great staff, and good food. We will pass along your compliment to Briana. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the facilities are top notch, and the restaurant and bar are excellent. The service is friendly and attentive, and the location is good. One major plus is the hotel's car service, which we used to take us to and from dinner and music venues. We will definitely be staying at the Ella when we return to Austin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Jays911:

Thank you for your great review of Hotel Ella. We are so glad that you felt the rooms were spacious and comfortable and that you thought the restaurant are bar were excellent. We are also glad you utilized our car service to make transportation to dinner and music venues convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ella!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Ella recently, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We booked a suite on the small pool, and found it to be exceptional. Stylish furnishings, local microbrews at turndown service, and overall great service! Will definitely choose this hotel when we're in Austin next.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms have a small private lanai.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Steve G:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found the suite to be exceptional and that you appreciated the local microbrews at turndown service. We are looking forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I always stay at Hotel Ella when in Austin. The building is very nice, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the location is great. It's easy to get to the UT campus in the courtesy car and you don't have to worry about parking!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Diane C:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella and for being such a loyal guest. We are glad to hear that you think the building is very nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I loved the fact that the hotel had a car service anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel, they were always available too. The Pool was relaxing and the hotel bar staff was most accommodating whether at the pool or on the porch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AGPERRYFSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear AGPERRYFSU:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are pleased to hear that you found our pool to be relaxing and the bar staff to be accommodating. We are also glad you got a chance to take advantage of our car service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel manager was absolutely wonderful in considering our requests and making our stay very comfortable and special. A real-life case of listening to customers and understanding their needs. Physically, the hotel is beautiful and situated in a lovely neighborhood. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChoralScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear ChoralScholar:

Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. It is great to hear such positive feedback about our service. We take pride in providing a personalized experience. We are glad to hear that you found the hotel to be beautiful and that you enjoyed your stay immensely. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 201 in Austin
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 201 in Austin
656 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $257 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing