We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Hip in a great location”
Review of Hotel Ella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ella
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The decor and grounds are a nice juxtaposition between modern and historic—the mansion is grand and stately, the pool area is relaxing and hip-looking. (We visited in December, so we can only imagine how popular it must be in the warmer months!). The grounds include interesting contemporary sculptures and the hotel's public spaces have some really cool art and photography. Our room in the "new addition" pool area was chic, but in an understated way—it wasn't so modern as to conflict with the historic quality of the mansion. The hotel's rooms should appeal to travelers of many ages and tastes.

We also enjoyed hanging out in the hotel bar, rapping with the bartenders about mixology and trying their assortment of cocktails, and even experimenting with some new recipes. The staff is really fun and engaging, and they do a good job of creating a relaxed environment. For more than a couple evenings, we found it the best way to wind-down after a long day.

One last thing: I believe the greatest indicator of a hotel's quality is the attitude and pride of its staff. Without a doubt, the staff that work at Hotel Ella are pleasant, enthusiastic, and proud of where they work. There's a very good energy that makes me suspect the management is good and that the quality and value will only continue to grow.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Murray W: Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Hotel Ella. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cool art and photography as well as hanging out in the hotel bar with our really fun and engaging staff. We pride ourselves on being pleasant, enthusiastic, and maintaining a good energy. We really look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Ella soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 376 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was truly impressed with the hotel in honestly every respect. The food was exceptional and the entire staff was incredibly accommodating. I can't wait for our next visit to Austin, which will include a stay and meal at our new favorite Austin hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Michael D: Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are very pleased to hear that you found the food to be exceptional and that the staff was incredibly accommodating. We also can't wait for your next visit to Austin, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I chose those hotel due to its location close to the Erwin Center for a concert. I looked for a boutique hotel for the charm, but found similar properties to be ridiculously expensive and less charming. Hotel Ella did not disappoint. What a pleasant gem! The rooms were large, elegant, with extremely comfortable bedding, towels, robes, temperature and lighting. The staff was so eager to be of service, we felt like celebrities. Our room was located away from any noise, even though there was a large celebration going on in the hotel. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Kathie F: Thank you for your recommendation of Hotel Ella. We are glad that you found the bedding, towels, and robes to be extremely comfortable. We are glad we did not disappoint. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Ella again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I initially came to the Ella because the ATT Conference Center hotel was sold out. It's a short 10 minute walk from the center, but a much more intimate experience. The rooms have been beautifully renovated. The classic bar with drinks available on the wrap-around porch were a lovely way to end the evening. The staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. The rates were comparable to the conference negotiated rate at ATT. I will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKMSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear MKMSanFrancisco: Thank you for supporting Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the intimate experience and the beautifully renovated rooms. We are even more pleased to hear that you will be back, and we look forward to welcoming you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our new years eve and day stay was wonderful. The staff was the most friendly and professional I have ever experienced at any hotel. We were greeted with champagne when we arrived! Hotel Ella is so beautiful we didn't want to leave. The bed was so luxurious and the bedding as well. Decor also impeccable. Mini bar has everything! The staff was super friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leslee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Leslee G: Thank you for taking the time to give Hotel Ella a great review. We are pleased to hear that your new years eve and day stay was wonderful and that you found the staff to be super friendly. We look forward to greeting you at Hotel Ella again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent a wonderful couple days at Hotel Ella in Austin. "Southern Living" suggested this hotel and they were correct. Newly renovated facility. Excellent location across from UT campus. Short ride to 6th street--very convenient in the Hotel's White Escalade! You will enjoy some music and fun in Austin at the Hotel Ella

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Patrick H: Thank you for your review of Hotel Ella. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the "Southern Living" suggestion and the convenience of the Hotel's White Escalade. We look forward to having you back for more music and fun in Austin at the Hotel Ella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I recently stayed in Hotel Ella for a wedding, and I have to say, I've never had better service at any hotel! We received a hand written welcome note from the manager. Every staff member we encountered asked us if they could do anything for us and how we enjoyed the hotel. It's also a beautiful hotel with a boutique feel. Very nice decor in the bedrooms, extremely clean. The maids brought us cute jugs of water and cookies before bedtime. And when we asked for extra towels, they must have brought us over 10....it was incredible. I would've loved to stay longer, and will definitely consider staying there next time I'm in Austin!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ella, Manager at Hotel Ella, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear CEskow: Thank you for such a great review. We are pleased to hear that you have never had better service at any hotel and that you enjoyed the nice decor in the bedrooms. We hope you can stay longer with us and look forward to having you at Hotel Ella next time you visit Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
2,060 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 202 in Austin
738 reviews
2.5 mi away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#16 of 202 in Austin
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 202 in Austin
1,233 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ella

Address: 1900 Rio Grande St, Austin, TX 78705-5511 (Formerly Mansion at Judges' Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Business Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $178 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ella 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the heart of downtown Austin and within walking distance of the University of Texas, Hotel Ella is a stylish boutique hotel housed in the historic Goodall Wooten House, one of Austin's original landmark estates. Constructed in 1900, the Greek revival-style mansion underwent an extensive renovation in 2013, and now offers a picture-perfect setting for vacations, staycations, weddings, meetings and more. With 47 guest rooms, a cabana-lined pool, and a wrap-around veranda overlooking our front lawn, Hotel Ella features beautifully designed outdoor and indoor spaces-including a recently renovated ballroom-that will add timelessness and simple elegance to any event. In true Texan style, guests will be treated to a superior level of personalized service and exceptional dining during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion At Judges` Hill Hotel Austin
Mansion At Judges Hill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing