We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in East Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sagra

Sagra
Ranked #2,121 of 3,689 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Hallettsville, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A gem in East Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Staff was very welcoming and explained any questions we had about the menu. Two of our friends are vegetarian and the restaurant offered a full menu for that in addition to the regular menu. Our veggie friends had a pizza, which they proclaimed outstanding. I had the pasta dish, which consisted of "S" shaped house-made pasta with sausage and marinara, which was excellent. The other friend had the fish, which was sea bass and arrived to the table whole and steaming. He thought it very good and actually ate the whole thing. This is a wonderful place in fast growing East Austin that you must try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GC50MH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service and fresh made food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very good homemade italian food. The service was the best part about this visit, our server went out of the way to make our visit superb ! Thanks to the young guy with curly hair that served us ! forgot his name :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chanzesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went to Sagra for Sunday brunch. Had a 1 pm reservation. All was set. Hostess was very accommodating as to the table (restaurant was 2/3 full). Wife changed tables twice due to location. Hostess said she wanted us to have a great experience. They also honored my 2 for 1 entree coupon.

Very nice touches.

Table did not have any condiments on it. Not sure if that is intentional as the tables have white butcher paper on them so sets require removing everything. The salt or pepper were not missed.

Server, Abigail, was excellent and welcoming.

I ordered Eggs Mama. It was a large portion and very good. They broke the yolks (which I am torn about.) Wife ordered spaghetti with marinara (not on menu). They delivered the spaghetti with marinara without a hitch. Pasta was al dente. Sauce was very good.

The small muffins were excellent. The butter was excellent. The service was excellent.

So why not an excellent rating? They ran out of scones and bellinis. This was 2 hours before the close of brunch. Abigail told us it was because of getting slammed with a Groupon coupon.

We will visit again to try their other menu items.

Parking was easy and there was enough behind the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Pirata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77429
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food in a quiet atmosphere with free parking and amazing strawberry ginger gelato!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Dinner was awesome! The arugula salad was big enough for 4 to share. All you can eat mussels on Tuesdays. It's a very nice setting, where you could have a nice celebratory dinner without the pretentiousness. Don't miss dessert! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gbellomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
260 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Quick, grab a life jacket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This wonderful spot has been mostly empty on my two visits---once at the height of SXSW, when I was astounded to see a shacky pizzeria down the street doing land office business while Sagra was offering half price Neopolitan gourmet pizzas for $6 during happy hour, and discounted fantastic cocktails! Go figure. It does influence your experience to eat in an empty restaurant, but our service was great and food was delicious, and a steal. We took friends back a Fri night a few weeks later. Nearly empty again. I hope some folks show up. Maybe the kitchen has been inconsistent, I don't know. But the interior is lovely, comfortable and quiet, a real rarity in Austin nowdays....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sagra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing