We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your Burger ON !”

P. Terry's Burger Stand
Ranked #235 of 3,736 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Zilker Park
Description: Kathy and Patrick Terry opened the first P. Terry's on July 5th, 2006 at the corner of South Lamar and Barton Springs. Patrick was following his childhood dream to open a classic burger stand, like the legendary Mack Eplin's he grew up with in Abiliene, Texas. But when Kathy read the book "Fast Food Nation", their plan to provide quality food and service went to a higher level. P. Terry's offers the freshest quality ingredients you can find served out of a drive-thru window. We're where fresh, all-natural, "never-ever" beef and chicken became staple items. We serve fresh-cut fries made from all-natural potatoes, free of trans fats and hydrogenated oils. Add to that our fresh-baked cookies, banana bread, and house veggie burger; our fresh-squeezed orange juice and lemonade; and our authentic milkshakes - we care about what's out there to eat, and we make our food with that in mind. But we didn't forget Patrick's original image - the classic burger joint of the '50s and '60s, when small-town hospitality was the standard. That's why we offer a simple menu with an open kitchen, with premium quality ingredients served at affordable prices. It's why we treat every customer with utmost respect; take every chance to give back to our community; and ensure our employees' well-being - through opportunities to grow with our business, access to unique benefits, and pay above industry standards.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Get your Burger ON !”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

While out and about with local family, we needed a lunchtime burger fix...problem was we're carnivores and they're vegitarians...P Terry's=No Problem. They'd been there before and love the veggie/bean burgers and we devoured our beef one's. Fresh made, lot's of add-on choices and delicious fries. On our list for our next trip. Good Stuff !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    76
    34
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“fast n Austiny”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

2nd time here n for a quick drive thru to eat in the car en route somewhere else..this time was a lot better ..wasnt as impressed the first time bc it is a small burger n the first time we just gobbled it up n felt like the meat was so tiny albeit tons of natural cut fries..this time i enjoyed my cheeseburger so much more maybe bc i added onions (u can add pickles n onions with no extra charge) but the meat this time seemed thicker :) n as before tons of fries for one order..their burgers ate cheap here..just couple dollars! Otherwise this a ok pit stop place dir some cheap fast burgers! Kinda like in n out :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livelovex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wast food eating”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

P. Terry's has opened up several drive through hamburgers stands in Austin. They have a twist to fast food, it is all natural and organic ingredients..or so the menu states. We had friends in town and wanted a quick meal on the run so we stopped at the shopping Center off of 360. They have places to sit inside as well as a place to drive through and order. My friends order hamburgers and veggie buyers and thought they were pretty good for fast food., I order a banana shake, and a veggie burger. The banana shake was very good, it tasted like fresh bananas and ice-cream. The veggie burger tasted like it had mushrooms in it and was pretty good. A few days later on the way to the airport we stopped at the P.Terry's on Barton Springs Road. They ordered veggie burgers and hamburgers and said they were good. I ordered a root beet shake but they forgot to put in the root beer so I exchanged it for a banana shake. I watched them make the shake this time and it didn't have any bananas in it just some sweet syrup, a and a little too much syrup. All in all if you need a fast meal this is probably a healthy alternative to the big chains....but skip the banana shake...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great cheap burgers”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. Picked up some burgers and took them to Zilker park for a picnic. Great burgers at a decent price. Definetly better than the chain burger places. They have another location at 280 and Congress too. Check them out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katwoman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“very confused”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were heading to zilker park and me beign a burger enthusiast i decided to buy just one burger to go to see if they good enough to come back later for.The burger was delicious and juicy so we headed to the park with plans to return this is were i was confused.I ordered the same burger as did my wife as she took a bite out of mine earlier and wanted some for herself.The burger was dry and completely different i felt like i was getting punked but i wasnt .The fries arent good and the milkshake is decent.I know its just a burger but its not that hard to be consistent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leo_travel_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P. Terry's Burger Stand also viewed

 

Been to P. Terry's Burger Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing