We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 3,736 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Trinity Street
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Kenora, Canada
1 review
“First time”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal during my first trip to this chain
Everything they had on there menus was good
What a salad bar!! Omg
I hope to be back

Helpful?
Thank Lodgeporker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    88
    41
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“It was ok but.....”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have been to about 5 of these restruants now. This one is average in food quality, the meat was average but plentiful the salad bar was good but some of the offerings seemed of poor quality, like the salami slices. the meat was over cooked and or grisley too often. The service was attentive still hands down favriote Chama Gaucha in San Antonio, 10 x the quality for a 45 min -1hr drive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What can I say - excellent Brazillian steak house. You won't be disappointed. Try a cae parania (sp?)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bring on the meat!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

For an all you can eat restrauant it is pretty darn good. We had a good waiter... loved the gaucho style pants on the guys. If you aren't very hungry the salad bar is fantastic and provides more than enough protein for a significant savings on your bill. A good lunch spot. Fun for birthday celebrations. The reservation staff isn't very knowledgeable when it comes to changing times. Other than that the staff is friendly and efficient. The apple salad is very good ... Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sassy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience Enjoyed With Visiting Family!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had family visiting in age range from, 10, 12, 16, & 17 years of age along with four adults. We had reservations for 6:30 but arrived at 6:00 and were graciously seated early. The wait staff were wonderful with our group, explaining the menu patiently and the variety of choices. The salad bar is fantastic with food ranging from smoked salmon to fresh cut asparagus, salads and so much more! The kids loved the idea of flipping their chip and magically the waiters would arrive with the meat and slice what they wanted. I think my 10 year old niece ate more than any of us! The meats were delicious, my favorite meat was the signature steak, Picanha. My husband ordered a variety of desserts from the chocolate molten lava cake, creme Brûlée , cheesecake, and carmelized pineapples. The kids loved the room where the meat was cooking. An exceptional meal, with great service and ambience. Another plus, they have been awarded The Wine Spectator Award of Excellence from 2008-2013. What a fantastic restaurant for a romantic couple or family dining. We will be back again! Here's to a great 2014!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing