We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat lovers DREAM!”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 3,736 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $47
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Trinity Street
Description: Fogo de ChaoR (fo-go dee shoun), is an authentic Southern Brazilian steakhouse. In 1979, FogoR began sharing the gaucho way of preparing meat in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Today, our gaucho chefs still expertly grill each of our 16 cuts of meat and offer you continuous tableside service. We invite you to enjoy the delicious preparations of our gaucho chefs along with our gourmet salad bar, authentic Brazilian side dishes, and award-winning wine list.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Meat lovers DREAM!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you want lots of lots of good tasting carnage, this is the place. Be careful not to fill up on the amazing salad bar before the proteins come out.
Servers carve you beef, lamb, pork and chicken table side, and they all taste great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    88
    41
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Celiac sufferers rejoice!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere near the Austin convention center and Fogo boasted gluten free options being a Brazilian Steakhouse. When we arrived they brought amazing smelling bread to our table and I yet again sat in sadness as I watched everyone eat. I was then everything with the exception of 3 or 4 items were safe for me to eat- including the "bread". I was extremely excited. the service was amazing- as the staff worked as a team. All the meats we tried were great and drinks and dessert were superb! It was a spendy dinner but I would do it again! Just make sure you are hungry!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicoleVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth the guilt at skipping Texas BBQ”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Culinarily, a trip to Texas should be dominated by local BBQ, particularly when Brazilian-style BBQ places can be found across the country. Nevertheless, Fogo provides one of the better Brazilian experiences amidst a crowded field of competition and is good enough to justify skipping a more-traditional Texas meal.
The staff is extraordinarily efficient, and will pounce on you as soon as your indicator is green. The leg of lamb and the house special were particularly good, but no one had a bad cut--though there was shared disappointment in the ribs.
I continue to campaign for a salad-bar-only option, as it is worthy of meal itself, but alas...
Expect to over-indulge because few have the willpower to bypass these options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I really like the service and atmosphere in Fogo de Chao. The quality of the meat and salads is perfect. It takes discipline to keep the card turned red and skip some great smelling meat presented at the table.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rudy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Drinks”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The continuous service of almost every kind of meat you can think of is great. The salad bar is at best average, could really have been much better. The Brazilian drink was wonderful, be sure to order the premium one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texascowboy3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing