We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
188
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bluebonnet room south congress oak suite homemade yogurt screened in porch sunday house quiet neighborhood gracious hosts b bs carriage house travis heights espresso machine bed and breakfast hard boiled eggs the main house huge oak trees entire house
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 207 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Great experience! Friendly and accommodating bed and breakfast! The room was beautiful. Definitely recommend the Pecan Rm with screened in porch. The breakfast spread was delicious! Highly recommend if you are in the Austin area to stay here for an alternative to hotel travel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thanks Jessica!

We're glad you found our accommodations accommodating. The Pecan Room with it's private porch overlooking the Live Oak trees is pretty special but some of our other rooms are great alternatives too.

Come back to visit us again soon!

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview Austin B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

The Fairview provides a lovely quiet neighborhood base for exploring Austin,TX. It's close to restaurants and downtown, and provides a comfortable and historic stay with rooms like the Bluebonnet! Helpful and friendly hosts made me feel right at home in the the living areas, garden, and the breakfast/coffee room.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank MaryAnnArbor2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you MaryAnn for a lovely review!

Our historic neighborhood is special and we're glad it was a good location for you to explore downtown Austin. The Bluebonnet Room is our smallest but some say it is the cutest.

Come back to visit again. We'd love to help you fell right at home again.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview Austin B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We normally opt for full service hotel but we selected Fairview for the location ... easy four block walk to SoCo (South Congress - a four/five block area with great food and shops that have an up beat casual vibe). A few minutes more and you are at Congress bridge (perfect spot to watch over 1 million bats fly off to feed at sunset).
The star though was the hotel. We were fortunate to have booked the Pecan Room. The room itself was nice, comfy bed, and claw foot tub. The porch though really was special (note: online pics do not to this porch justice). The 2nd floor porch is screened in and overlooks front of hotel. We could hear the birds and insects while sipping our drinks and enjoying a nice breeze.
Our hosts were great with good dining suggestions. Overall five stars for ambiance. Internet was very good as well.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kkoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you!

We often say that we're not really the main attraction, Austin and South Congress is - but we're very glad that your "location choice" turned out to be a good "lodging choice" as well. Sounds like you were able to catch many of the nearby local attractions while you were here.

If you missed anything or just want to watch the bats again, please come stay with us again. We'd love to have you back.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview Austin B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We spent three nights at the Fairview. The room we stayed in, the Sunday, was spotless, cool, and gorgeous. The grounds were peaceful and lovely. We felt like we were in a Caribbean oasis, yet just a short walk from SoCo. Breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts so lovely and accommodating (my daughter and I are vegan, and they went out of their way to provide us with delicious breakfasts)! I am hesitant to rave, because I don't want it to be booked when I come back. But if I could give this place 10 stars, I would!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you Kyla for that amazing review!

We're so glad you enjoyed our peaceful oasis here in downtown Austin. We count ourselves very fortunate to live here and to share it with our guests. Special diets are kind of our special thing too so we're glad our vegan breakfast worked out well for you.

Don't worry about us being booked for when you return. We do our best to make room for our return guests and we even give a discount when you make your return reservations through our own website. Just mention that you have stayed with us before.

Hope to see you again!

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview Austin B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Exactly as the pictures indicate. Spotless, very spacious (our suite had 2 rooms in addition to the very large bedroom and a 2 room bathroom), very quiet and elegant. Located in a residential leafy area 5mn walk from the busy S. Congress area, with restaurants, shops and music venues. About 5mn drive to the central business district and 10 mn drive to east Austin. Breakfast is continental with fruit and homemade yogurt, granola and baked goods. They have espresso/cappuccino, and a lovely porch and garden. Very charming in a modern way (in a renovated grand old house that retains just the right amount of original detail), we loved it, would recommend it and definitely chose it for a return trip.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sabine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you Sabine, for that wonderful and not so small review!

You stayed in the Live Oak Suite which as you said is quite grand. It's a special treat for couples but also is good for families since it can sleep up to 4 with the addition of a couple of twin beds.

If your travels bring you back to Austin we would love for you to check out some of our other rooms as well. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back at The Fairview again soon.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview Austin B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews