We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$114
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
$237
$225
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Austin Motel(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/25
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$242
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown(Austin)(Great Value!)
$177
$140
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
175
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbluebonnet roomoak suitesouth congresshomemade yogurtscreened in porchsunday housequiet neighborhoodgracious hostsb bscarriage houseespresso machinetravis heightsthe main housebed and breakfasthard boiled eggsclaw foot tubdaughter rachel
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 194 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2015

I just visited Austin for the first time ever and lucked out big time. This place is a gem. We had our wedding here and could not imagine a more perfect venue. I travel a lot and am used to big fancy hotels and this place exceed all expectations I can't imagine why you would stay anywhere else in Austin. The place is spotless, beautiful, and SO peaceful and relaxing, one morning we sat in the gorgeous rocking chairs in the porch with our delicious homemade espresso and saw an armadillo walking around! It's the best of both worlds - the grounds are gorgeous but you're a few minutes' walk from the cool South Congress area and can get an Uber in less than 5 minutes to get over the bridge downtown (though it's a lovely walk across the bridge if you have the time). We had a huge, amazingly comfortable bed and sheets, every possible amenity you could need in the bathroom and then some, and a delicious homemade breakfast. For us that's a big deal - my daughter has multiple food allergies and not only did we have a kitchenette in our room we didn't even need it - Vivian is really knowledgable on allergies and was able to make egg-nut-seed-gluten free muffins and cake and bread that my daughter could eat! And I don't know how they do it but they have this homemade yogurt that is the best I've ever had. The owners - Vivian and Jimi - are so so nice and they have a cute and friendly little white dog. Vivian even made us food bags to go on our last morning for our flight. So glad this place opened up in Austin! If you are looking for a hotel in Austin for either business or pleasure and they have availability - GRAB IT!

Room Tip: If you have food allergies you can get one with a kitchenette
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2015

Congratulations on a beautiful and fun wedding, Michelle!

Weddings are always nice and yours was especially so. We really enjoyed having you, your family and your friends here, both the ones who stayed for the weekend and others who were just here for the celebrations. We do our best to make sure events at The Fairview are as awesome as they can be.

Accommodating food allergies and sensitivities is something we are very comfortable with doing. We're so glad we could provide a food safe environment for your lovely daughter and a fun party for her and her friends.

We hope to see you here again sometime.

Jimi & Vivian
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015

Beautiful neo-colonial house with immaculate decor in a quiet location but very close to South Congress for night life and easily walkable to the famous 6th street. Lovely room with four poster bed and en suite facilities. The whole house has the best and quietest AC I have experienced - always at a perfect temperature. The patrons, Vivian and Jimi are so kind and helpful and lay on the best and healthiest breakfast I have ever found in the USA - everything home baked and excellent coffee available at all times. We got lucky when we picked this place.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2015

Whew! Good AC is very important to have here in Texas!

That's why we installed a new, top-of-the-line system last year. It even allows each guest to control their room's temperature independently. We're glad it served you so well while you stayed with us.

Thank you, Kenneth, for the kind words.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015

Highly recommend staying at Fairview, Vivian and Jimmy are great hosts and very discreet with it also.
Great location, with shops and bars a 5-10 minute walk and the centre of Austin 20-30 minutes.
We had the Live Oak Suite, which was a very large room with two additional rooms of it, which could of had an additional bed in each, our 15 year old son had a bed set up in one of these rooms which was very comfortable, the large en-suite was shared.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scaffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Yes, the Live Oak Suite with an extra bed in it's adjoining Library Room is great for families. We're glad it worked out well for yours.

Thanks for staying with us, Paul. We hope to see you and your family again.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015

We stayed here for a wedding in October. It certainly helped that the weather was perfect, but it didn't hurt that the hotel offers many comforts and is truly a quaint ideal escape. We stayed in the Pecan room, and although it's one of the smaller rooms, I contend it's the best room. The room is spacious and the bathroom has a full deep soak bathtub. The bed is large, firm and extremely comfortable, a flat screen tv offers roku and direct tv service. Yet the best part of the room is the outdoor patio. It overlooks the front of the house, teeming with majestic trees sloping their way down to the road, one feels perched and suspended in animation on some long forgotten plantation. In fact if the weather had not proved to be so ideal, we would have been perfectly content to spend the majority of our time reading away on the balcony. But the weather was perfect and we needed to spend our free time exploring. Jimmy and Viv the owners of the Fairview directed us to to some of the most magnificent city walking paths in the US. They also led us to some gastronomic feasts and a wonderful spa. They were not just great tour guides, Viv is an amazing cook, we enjoyed homemade granola, homemade yoghurt and a delicious coffee cake (all gluten free). The first floor of the house is spacious and offers more than enough room to relax the day away. But Viv, Jimmy and their daughters are great conversationalists. The rest of the staff was diligent and always smiling. Apparently some members of the staff are also fluent in Korean. Whether you need a place to relax or a place to stay on business, I highly recommend the Fairview

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Thank you, DRBroadway!

While we can't take credit for beautiful weather, we can definitely help our guests take advantage of it. The Pecan Room Porch is a great place to start the day no matter what the weather. We're glad you enjoyed it along with everything else that The Fairview and Austin has to offer.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Vivian and Jimmy are the most amazing hosts, and their beautiful B&B is just the start of a fabulous stay. From our first interaction with them while booking our stay online to every element of our visit, they were warm, helpful and truly made us feel like family. I would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are beautiful, spotless, inviting and spacious, and frankly, the beds were impossibly comfortable. The grounds of the inn are glorious, and there are lots of fun spaces to sit in the shade, enjoy a cool drink (or a cup of their fabulous coffee) and relax. The breakfasts were delicious, plentiful, and best of all, our hosts go to extra lengths to make sure that everyone's dietary needs are accomodated: this is a gluten friendly, allergy friendly, vegetarian friendly inn. Needless to say, I'm a big fan, appreciated the care and hospitality that was extended with such grace and joy, and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a kitchenette, ask for the Carriage House!
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimiBallard, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

You and all of your family were such exceptional guests, thank you Sara!

We're glad that we could make your visit to Austin a nice one and we're especially glad you enjoyed the convenience of having your own kitchen. We'll do our best to take good care of you again if you can make it back our way.

Jimi & Vivian Ballard
Owners / Innkeepers
The Fairview

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews